Engineering Research Guide: Civil and Environmental Engineering

• ASCE Library This link opens in a new window

  Provides access to 36 journals, the annual Conference papers/proceedings, and eBooks and Standards issued by ASCE, covering the latest research in civil & environmental engineering.
• ASCE CE Database This link opens in a new window

  A supplement to the ASCE Library, searches publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers for topics such as Bridges; Urban Planning; and Aerospace, Architectural, Earthquake, Environmental, and Ocean Engineering. Coverage dates back to 1872.
• GreenFILE This link opens in a new window

  Focused on environmental topics including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and more. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest sources.
  
  Use of these electronic resources is for educational purposes only. By opening the link to these resources, you agree to this use.

  more... less...

  This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
  

• TRID This link opens in a new window

  Integrated database that combines the records from the Transportation Research Board’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
• ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window

  ASTM Digital Library includes access to all ASTM standards, nine journals, selected technical reports, proceedings, and bulletins. Users are required to create a free account and log in to view full text.

• IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window

  Indexes publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. SDSU subscribes to the journals but not the proceedings that are indexed in this publication.
• Inspec This link opens in a new window

  IET Inspec is one of the most definitive databases for subject-specific and interdisciplinary research in the fields of physics, electronics, computing and engineering. It contains over 22 million records of research and is used globally within universities, corporate and government organisations to ensure discoverability of essential content.

  more... less...

  IET Inspec is integrated with the Elsevier Engineering Village platform.

• TRB Publications Index

• The International Inforamtion Center for Civil Engineers

  The International Information Center for Civil Engineers aims to to be a catalyst for innovation & excellence in practice, research and education of the civil engineering industry.
• U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

  This site has information about Army Corps of Engineers projects and missions as well as full-text reports by the Corps.
• Earthquake Engineering Research Institute

  EERI is the leading non-profit membership organization that connects multidisciplinary professionals dedicated to advancing earthquake resilience.
• The International Information Center for Structural Engineers

  The International Information Center for Structural Engineers aims to be a catalyst for innovation & excellence in practice, research and education of the construction industry.
• USDA Soil Surveys by State

  Historical soil surveys have been scanned, converted to portable document format (pdf), and archived on a public download site.
• NIST-Buildings and Construction

  Resources for building and construction from the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology
• South Dakota Building Codes

  Information from the South Dakota Legislature on building codes and construction standards.
• GeoEngineer

  The mission of GeoEngineer includes the advancement of International Geoengineering Practice, Research and Education through the classification and integration of worldwide geoengineering information and the development of tools, resources and Professional activities.

• ASME open journal of engineering.

  ASME Open Journal of Engineering is a rapid turnaround, multidisciplinary, open access, and rigorously peer-reviewed publication that expands the ASME Journal Program to offer original research across the broad spectrum of all ASME technical communities.
• ASCE-ASME journal of risk and uncertainty in engineering systems. Part A, Civil Engineering.

  The journal will meet the needs of the researchers and engineers to address risk, disaster and failure-related challenges due to many sources and types of uncertainty in planning, design, analysis, construction, manufacturing, operation, utilization, and life-cycle management of existing and new engineering systems
• Environmental Science & Technology

  Environmental Science & Technology reports impactful, groundbreaking, world-class research across a diverse range of environmentally relevant topics.
• Water Research

  Water Research publishes refereed, original research papers on all aspects of the science and technology of the anthropogenic water cycle, water quality, and its management worldwide. A broad outline of the journal's scope includes:
  
  Also see open access companion journal Water Research X, sharing the same aims and scope and rigorous peer review.
• Science of the Total Environment

  A broad-scope journal covering research on the interactions between the environment and human activities.
• Civil Engineering Systems

  Civil Engineering and Environmental Systems is devoted to the advancement of systems thinking and systems techniques throughout systems engineering, environmental engineering decision-making, and engineering management.
• European Journal of Environmental and Civil Engineering

  Documents international research on sustainable construction, geomaterial rheology, soil-fluid-structure interactions, structural design and soil engineering.
• Journal of Road Engineering

  As an academic journal, Journal of Road Engineering (JRE) provides a platform for exchange and discussion of novel and creative ideas on theoretical and experimental researches on road engineering.
• Canadian Journal of Civil Engineering

  The Canadian Journal of Civil Engineering reports on civil engineering issues that the modern world is facing today, from climate change to expanding cities to increasing dependence on AI. The journal contains research on environmental engineering, hydrotechnical engineering, structural engineering, construction engineering, engineering mechanics, engineering materials, and history of civil engineering.
• Civil Engineering and Environmental Systems (Online)

  Concerned with systems techniques and their underlying assumptions through the spectrum of civil engineering activity and environmental decision-making and management.
• Civil and Environmental Engineering

  Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) is a scientific-technical journal, which publishes original research articles with relation to civil engineering, architecture, transport structures, environmental engineering, building structures and materials, and construction management. CEE is issued two times per year. CEE journal was founded by the faculty of Civil Engineering of the University of Žilina, Slovakia on 5 October 2004.
• Advances in Civil Engineering and Environmental Science

  "Advances in Civil Engineering and Environmental Science" (ACEES) is a scholarly journal that serves as a nexus for research and discourse on innovative approaches and solutions in the fields of civil engineering, environmental engineering, and sustainable infrastructure development.