Engineering Research Guide: Engineering Resources

This office registers and maintains patents and trademarks in the United States. For U.S. patents, this is the definitive database from which other collections get their data.

Formerly SciTech Connect, this resource is the primary search tool for the Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development results. Contains nearly 3 million citations, with citations for 1.5 million journal articles and 445,000 full-text DOE-funded reports. Also provides information about the history and organization of the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Resources date back to 1948.

The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.

Dissertations and theses produced by South Dakota State University students. Not all dissertations and theses are available full-text in this database. Indexing from 1958-2011.

A supplement to the ASCE Library, searches publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers for topics such as Bridges; Urban Planning; and Aerospace, Architectural, Earthquake, Environmental, and Ocean Engineering. Coverage dates back to 1872.

Provides access to 36 journals, the annual Conference papers/proceedings, and eBooks and Standards issued by ASCE, covering the latest research in civil & environmental engineering.

ASTM Digital Library includes access to all ASTM standards, nine journals, selected technical reports, proceedings, and bulletins. Users are required to create a free account and log in to view full text.

Integrated database that combines the records from the Transportation Research Board’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

Focused on environmental topics including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and more. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest sources.

Use of these electronic resources is for educational purposes only. By opening the link to these resources, you agree to this use.

Covers topics such as computational mathematics, theory and probability, and statistics. The American Mathematical Society provides access to over 11 full-text, peer-reviewed journals, along with a variety of other offerings, including articles, book reviews and reports.

The Water Research Foundation is a member-supported, international, non-profit organization that sponsors research to enable water utilities, public health agencies, and other professionals to provide safe and affordable drinking water to consumers. Some items may not be available to SDSU users but can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

This office registers and maintains patents and trademarks in the United States. For U.S. patents, this is the definitive database from which other collections get their data.

Collection of historical maps of South Dakota communities created by Sanborn Map Company from 1867 to 1970. Large scale plans of a city or town, drawn to a scale of 50 feet to an inch, created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. Includes building outlines, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and property numbers. Plans often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood. Multiple editions allow community development to be tracked over time.