LibGuides: Political Science: Books

Searching for Books

Look for Books and other media in Briggs Library:

Search for books in thousands of libraries Worldwide.

Search for ebooks from Ebsco

Search for ebooks in PorQuest Ebook Central

Subject Headings

Below are examples of subject headings to help you find literature about the political science.

Political science
Administration
Civil government
Commonwealth, The
Government
Political theory
Political thought
Politics
Science, Political
Aristocracy (Political science)
Authoritarianism
Authority
Biopolitics
Bureaucracy
Cabinet system
Central-local government relations
Citizenship
Civics
Communication in politics
Comparative government
Conservatism
Coups d'état
Decentralization in government
Delegation of powers
Democracy
Divided government
Elections
Equality
Executive power
Failed states
Federal government
Filibusters (Political science)
Government, Resistance to
Hegemony
Hot spots (Political science)
Ideology
Imperialism
Individualism
International organization
Liberalism
Liberty
Military government of dependencies
Ministerial responsibility
Monarchy
Nationalism
Newly independent states
Oligarchy
Opposition (Political science)
People's democracies
Plebiscite
Plutocracy
Polarization (Social sciences)
Police power
Political culture
Political development
Political parties
Politics, Practical
Populism
Postcolonialism
Power (Social sciences)
Pressure groups
Public administration
Radicalism
Representative government and representation
Republicanism
Republics
Restorations, Political
Revolutions
Right and left (Political science)
Semi-presidential system
Separation of powers
Social contract
Sovereignty States,
Symbolism in politics
Television and politics
Tribal government
Utopias
Village communities
World politics

Sources for E-books

eBooks from Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Search e-books by bibliographic information or through the full-text search limiter. These e-books are PDF or ePUB format and can be read on a computer or downloaded to other devices.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central has credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. It delivers a limited selection of 2000+ titles from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.

Videos

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 30,000 films and includes titles from BBC, Criterion Collection, and Media Education Foundation. Kanopy features include browsing by subject or using a search box, setting up clip/play lists, and sharing or embedding videos.
Alexander Street Press Videos This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press Video includes a variety of streaming videos including documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels. These videos are not available from other streaming services. Currently videos cannot be played on mobile phones or tablets.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.

Government Documents

Government publications include publications from all parts of the U.S. Government. These can usually be found online or in paper by using the Catalog of Government Publication or GovInfo.

Use the Government Documents Research Guide to find documents from the local/state level through international governments.

Government Documents Research Guide

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>