LibGuides: Statistical Sources: International Statistics

Guide Contents

Contact Us

Briggs Library Reference

Email Me

Contact:

SBL 123
Briggs Library, Box 2115
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007-1098

605-688-5107

Finding International Statistics

United Nations Documents
Information about countries worldwide from the United Nations
OECD: Statistics from A to Z
Browse an alphabetical list of downloadable tables of international statistics on a wide variety of topics. Data have been compiled and published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OECD iLibrary
Search the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s data sets and publications. Some may be freely downloaded from the site, while others may need to be requested through Interlibrary Loan or purchased from the OECD.
OECD.Stat
Access the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s core data sets
UNdata
Search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. The numerous databases, tables, and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, and trade.
more...less...
Created and maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).
UNESCO Data Centre
Access the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization's (UNESCO) Institute for Statistics database. Pre-1999 data available in print at Briggs in UNESCO's Statistical Yearbook.
Eurostat Statistics by Theme
Find and download data and publications on a wide variety of topics in Europe. Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online
Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.

For more than 80 years, the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics has been published by the United Nations Statistics Division and previously by the League of Nations.
United Nations ESCAP Data and Statistics (Asia & Pacific)
Published by the United Nations' Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP). Previous yearbooks are also freely available through this site (2007 - present).
Statistics Explained
An official Eurostat website presenting many statistical topics in an easily understandable way. Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union.
U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base
Offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. Includes data from 1950 -- present, as well as projections to 2050.
Data Portal: The Open Data Hub of the European Union
Contains 5831 datasets that you can browse, learn about, and download.
U.S. Census Bureau International Programs
Access resources on worldwide population and demographic indicators; world population trends; HIV/AIDS prevalence and incidence for countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Oceania; and global population mapping.

World Development Reports by World Bank
Call Number: HC59.7 .W659
Each annual report in this series addresses a different topic. Past reports (1978-2014) are available both at Briggs Library and online.
World Development Indicators by World Bank Staff
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0821357298
Provides international statistics on a broad range of topics, including demographics, the environment, economies and markets, and the Millennium Development Goals. 1964-present
Statistical Yearbook (Annuaire Statistique) 2011 by United Nations. Statistical Office
Call Number: HA12.5 .U55s 2011
This annual publication presents a statistical snapshot of the world, including a wide variety of social and economic statistics. Text is in English and French. Past volumes are also available at Briggs Library (1957-2012) and online (2001-present).
Statistical Abstract of Latin America by James E. Wilkie (Editor)
Call Number: HA935 .S75 2002
ISBN: 0879032650
Past volumes are also available at Briggs Library (1970-2002).

Gender Data Portal from the World Bank
Created and maintained by the World Bank, this portal includes gender datasets from the United Nations (UN) compiled by its Regional Commissions and Sectoral Agencies, as well as World Bank conducted or funded surveys and reports, such as the 2012 World Development Report (WDR) on Gender and Development.
OECD Gender Equality
Includes selected indicators related to gender inequalities in education, employment and entrepreneurship around the world.
OECD Gender Data Browser
Compare and contrast the outcomes among countries across 16 key indicators related to gender.
Note: This link opens an interactive Excel file.
UNECE Statistical Database
Access multi-dimensional tables from the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) that present data by country, by various socio-economic classifications related to the context, and by time period.

Data is presented under four subject areas: Macroeconomic Statistics, Gender Statistics, Transport Statistics, and Forestry Statistics.

Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb
Provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public free of charge. Created and maintained by the U.S. International Trade Commission.
more...less...
U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information are available on a self-service, interactive basis. The USITC DataWeb responds to user-defined queries integrating international trade statistics with complex tariff and customs treatment, and allows both expert and non-expert users to create and save customized country and product lists for future re-use from anywhere in the world.

International trade data are available for years 1989- present on a monthly, quarterly, annual, or year-to-date basis and can be retrieved in a number of classification systems, including the Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS), the Standard International Trade Classification (SITC), or the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Pre-defined reports on international trade statistics are also available by geographic region and partner country. Current U.S. tariffs, which are maintained and published by the USITC as a statutory responsibility, can be accessed via the USITC DataWeb, and retrieved with relevant international trade data.
TradeStats Express
Find the latest annual U.S. merchandise trade statistics at both the national and state levels and view them in maps, graphs, and tables; as exports, imports, and trade balances; or custom-tailored to your year and dollar ranges and display preferences. Created and maintained by the U.S. Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration.
Bank for International Settlements Statistics
BIS international financial statistics are a unique source of information on various elements of the global financial system, including banking, securities, derivatives, effective exchange rates, foreign exchange, external debt, payment systems, and property prices.
International Monetary Fund Data and Statistics
Identify data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Some IMF data and statistics may require a subscription to access.
World Bank Data Catalog
Browse available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online
Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.

For more than 80 years, the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics has been published by the United Nations Statistics Division and previously by the League of Nations.
UNECE Statistical Database
Access multi-dimensional tables from the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) that present data by country, by various socio-economic classifications related to the context, and by time period.

Data is presented under four subject areas: Macroeconomic Statistics, Gender Statistics, Transport Statistics, and Forestry Statistics.
Eurostat Statistics by Theme
Find and download data and publications on a wide variety of topics in Europe. Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union.

Economic Statistics, 1900-1983: United Kingdom, United States of America, France, Germany, Italy, Japan by Thelma Liesner
Call Number: HC106 .L68 1985
ISBN: 0816012997
The World Economy by Angus Maddison
Call Number: HC21 .M285 2006
ISBN: 9264022619
vol. 1 A Millennial Perspective -- vol. 2 Historical Statistics
Balance of Payments Statistics: Yearbook 2011 by International Monetary Fund, Balance of Payments Division
Call Number: HF1014 .I57 v. 65
Past volumes are also available at Briggs Library (v. 32, 35, 38, 39, 41-66 and online).
International Trade Statistics Yearbook by United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistics Division Staff
Call Number: HF91 .U571
Past volumes are also available at Briggs Library (1956, 1970-1982) and (1983-2020).
Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook by International Monetary Fund
Call Number: HF91 .I65
Past volumes are also available at Briggs Library (1987-2015).

OECD Agriculture Statistics
Find data sets and publications about agriculture around the world published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Some may be freely downloaded from the site, while others may need to be requested through Interlibrary Loan or purchased from the OECD.
FAO Statistics
Access data from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations on a wide variety of agricultural topics, including crops, livestock, forestry, fisheries, water management, irrigation, soil quality, food production, and many more.
What is Missing?
Basic statistics and visualization map of extinct and endangered species
Earth Observing System Data and Information System
Access thousands of Earth system science data products and associated services for interdisciplinary studies.

EOSDIS provides end-to-end capabilities for managing NASA’s Earth science data from various sources – satellites, aircraft, field measurements, and various other programs.
UNECE Statistical Database
Access multi-dimensional tables from the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) that present data by country, by various socio-economic classifications related to the context, and by time period.

Data is presented under four subject areas: Macroeconomic Statistics, Gender Statistics, Transport Statistics, and Forestry Statistics.
Eurostat: Agricultural Statistics
Find and download data and publications on Agriculture in Europe. Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union.

Eurostat offers data on other agricultural topics as well:

Forestry
Fisheries
Food: Fork to Table
Agri-Environmental Indicators
Eurostat: Sustainable Development Indicators
Find and download data and publications on a variety of sustainability indicators in Europe. Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union.

Eurostat offers data on other relevant topics as well:

Environment
Energy
Science, Technology, and Innovation
Agriculture

North Atlantic Population Project
Complete-count data from 1800s censuses of Canada, Great Britain, Norway, Sweden, and the U.S.
IPUMS International
Harmonized data for 1960 forward, covering 480 million people in 211 censuses from around the world
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online
Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.

For more than 80 years, the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics has been published by the United Nations Statistics Division and previously by the League of Nations.
UNdata
Search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. The numerous databases, tables, and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, and trade.
more...less...
Created and maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).
UNECE Statistical Database
Access multi-dimensional tables from the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) that present data by country, by various socio-economic classifications related to the context, and by time period.

Data is presented under four subject areas: Macroeconomic Statistics, Gender Statistics, Transport Statistics, and Forestry Statistics.
U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base
Offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. Includes data from 1950 -- present, as well as projections to 2050.

International Historical Statistics: The Americas 1750-2000 by Brian Mitchell
Call Number: HA175 .M55 2003
ISBN: 0333994108
Includes historical population and vital statistics, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communication, finance, education, and national accounts for the Western Hemisphere
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, & Oceania 1750-2000 by B. R. Mitchell
Call Number: HA4675 .M552 2003
ISBN: 0333994124
Publication Date: 2003-09-06
Includes historical population and vital statistics, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communication, finance, education, and national accounts for Africa, Asia, and Oceania
International Historical Statistics: Europe 1750-2000 by Brian Mitchell
Call Number: HA1107 .M5 2003
ISBN: 0333994116
Includes historical population and vital statistics, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communication, finance, education, and national accounts for Europe
Economic Statistics, 1900-1983: United Kingdom, United States of America, France, Germany, Italy, Japan by Thelma Liesner
Call Number: HC106 .L68 1985
ISBN: 0816012997
The World Economy by Angus Maddison
Call Number: HC21 .M285 2006
ISBN: 9264022619
vol. 1 A Millennial Perspective -- vol. 2 Historical Statistics
Comprehensive Statistical Data and Materials on 50 Years of New China by Department of Comprehensive Statistics, National Bureau of Statistics
Call Number: HA4635 .H75 1999
ISBN: 750373132X
Text in English and Chinese.

UNdata
Search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. The numerous databases, tables, and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, and trade.
more...less...
Created and maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).

Many governments have an official site to communicate statistics related to their countries. This is only a selection of those sites.

Statistics Canada
Access the Census of Canada and other data gathered by the Canadian government.
México en Cifras
National Bureau of Statistics of China
e-Stat: Japan in Figures
Central Statistical Organization, Iraq
Central Bureau of Statistics, Israel
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Office for National Statistics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Comprehensive Statistical Data and Materials on 50 Years of New China by Department of Comprehensive Statistics, National Bureau of Statistics
Call Number: HA4635 .H75 1999
ISBN: 750373132X
Text in English and Chinese.

Statistical Sources: International Statistics

Guide Contents

Contact Us

Finding International Statistics

How Old is This?