Statistical Sources: South Dakota Statistics

Use the drop-down menu or the map to choose South Dakota and see basic demographic statistics on the state. You can look at more SD data sets or narrow the quick facts to county or city level.

Access a variety of demographic data on South Dakota gathered and presented by the Rural Life and Census Data Center at SDSU.

The Criminal Statistical Analysis Center's (SAC) primary function is to serve as the clearinghouse in South Dakota for criminal justice statistical data.

Statistics about adults and juveniles supervised by the South Dakota Department of Corrections.

Collects, analyzes and provides to the public information on the labor market of the state of South Dakota.

An annual series from the U.S. Census Bureau that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.

Occupational employment and wage estimates calculated with data collected from employers in all industry sectors in metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in South Dakota

Find data and statistics related to the consumption, production, and distribution of energy in South Dakota. Data covers 1960 -- present. Published and maintained by the U.S. Energy Information Administration.

Includes a wide variety of data and statistics related to transportation in South Dakota, including the infrastructure, safety, freight transportation, passenger travel, financial and economic issues, and energy and environmental aspects. Published by the U.S. Department of Transportation.

View monthly summaries of statistics for various types of gaming in South Dakota. Annual reports are also available for FY2010 and FY2011.

Traffic movement data is collected at over 7,500 locations throughout the state. In order to maximize data collection efficiency, sampling techniques and automatic recording equipment are utilized whenever possible.

Find vital statistics, statistical publications, and data on communicable diseases, cancer, risk factors, and hospitalization in South Dakota.

Find data on the Medicaid program in South Dakota, including the number of residents enrolled and amount paid from 2006 -- present.

Created and maintained by the Annie E. Casey Foundation

Data available from 2007 -- present

Data available from 2009 -- present.

Data available for 2000 -- present.

Find data and statistics on most aspects of agriculture in South Dakota

A historical five year series for all major crops, livestock and related data in the state and its counties. This publication is issued annually each summer, and issues for 2004-2013 are freely available online.

Print copies of this annual from 1920-present are available at Briggs Library.

From the U.S. Geological Survey, StreamStats provides users with access to tools that are critical for water-resources planning and management, and for engineering design applications, such as the design of culverts and bridges.

Includes South Dakota energy statistics and graphs that show energy consumption trends in the major sectors of the South Dakota economy. Published by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.

Basic statistics and visualization map of extinct and endangered species

Find data and statistics related to the consumption, production, and distribution of energy in South Dakota. Data covers 1960 -- present. Published and maintained by the U.S. Energy Information Administration.

From the U.S. Geological Survey, StreamStats provides users with access to tools that are critical for water-resources planning and management, and for engineering design applications, such as the design of culverts and bridges.