LibGuides: Nursing: Articles

Guide Contents

Nursing Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

605-688-5955

Subjects: Arts & Sciences, Biology & Microbiology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Citing Sources, Division of Economics & Management, Economics, Geography, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physics

Top Recommended Databases for Nursing

To find articles or other materials about a Nursing related topic, search a subject specific database below.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is the premier tool for finding published research in nursing, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. Indexes more than 4,600 journals and 275 books dating back to 1937. Also covered: nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and audiovisuals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine. Briggs Library's PubMed access includes links to our full-text articles.

Cochrane Library
Contains full text Cochrane Reviews--highly regarded evidence-based systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. Available to the College of Nursing through the Wegner Health Sciences Library website.
more...less...
Cochrane Reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of health interventions (drugs, surgery, therapy, education, etc.) in specific circumstances and are intended to help people make informed decisions based on best available, high quality research.
ClinicalKey for Nursing
Provides nurses with clinically relevant answers from evidence-based nursing books, journals, practice guidelines, and core measures with nursing recommendations. Available to the College of Nursing through the Wegner Health Sciences Library.
more...less...
Designed to provide information needed for nursing care, including: - Administering medication - Managing nurse policy - Monitoring for complications - Providing patient education.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from nearly 550 journals focusing on nursing and allied health.
For alternate access to this resource from within South Dakota click here. This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Wegner Library Databases - Complete List

As a Wegner Partner, the SDSU College of Nursing has online access to nearly 20 additional databases not available through Brigss Library and dozens of E-Books in the health sciences. Click the link above and login with your jacks email address and password.

More Useful Research Databases

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The largest resource for literature in mental health (including mental health nursing) and behavioral science. Published by American Psychological Association. Covers scholarly journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Nearly 3 million citations and abstracts date back to the 1600s. Journal coverage spans the 1800s to the present and includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in nearly 30 languages.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
More than 2.1 million records; subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus; coverage of peer-reviewed journals plus indexing for books, conference papers, and other publication types. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Largest source for cited reference searching.

Epistemonikos
FREE collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. Largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making. Large source of other types of scientific evidence.
eMolecules
An openly accessible search engine that includes 8 million unique chemical structures that can be search by keyword or by drawing chemical structures or substructures.
Popline
The world’s most comprehensive collection of population, family planning and related reproductive health and development literature. An international resource.

Quick Links

Cite Your Sources
by Elizabeth Fox Last Updated Nov 9, 2023 685 views this year

Databases A-Z
EndNote
Save, organize, and format your citations and full-text articles.
College of Nursing, SDSU
Wegner Health Sciences Library

CINAHL Tutorials

Review or improve your CINAHL search skills with these short (3-4 minute) videos.

PubMed Tutorials

PubMed for Nurses
Improve your PubMed searching skills by selecting short video tutorials from the menu on this page. Total run-time for the series: approximately 12 minutes.

Nursing: Articles