LibGuides: Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: Books

Searching for Books

Look for Books and other media in Briggs Library:

Search for books in thousands of libraries Worldwide.

Search for ebooks from Ebsco

Search for ebooks in PorQuest Ebook Central

Subject Headings for Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies

General concepts + women

The heading “Women” can be narrowed by adding an occupation e.g. women social reformers
The phrase “Women in” can be followed by professions such as women in literature
Many words can be added to the word “Women” to narrow a search; for instance rural women

Specific subject headings

Sex differences
Sex role
Sex discrimination
Sexual division of labor
Feminism
Men
Masculinity
Bisexuality
Butch and femme (Lesbian culture)
Femininity
Feminism
Feminist criticism
Gay and lesbian studies (may subdivide geographically)
Gay liberation movement
Gay rights
Gays
Gays -- United States -- Social conditions
Gender identity
Gender nonconformity
Gender transition
Genderqueer people
Hermaphroditism
Heterosexism
Homophobia
Homosexuality
Identity (Psychology)
Intersex people
Intersexuality
Lesbians
Masculinity
Men
Men's studies (may subdivide geographically)
Nonbinary gender identities
Queer theory
Same-sex marriage
Sex (Psychology)
Sex differences
Sex discrimination in higher education
Sex role
Sexism
Sexual freedom
Sexual minorities
Sexual minority youth
Sexual orientation
Transgender people
Transgender youth
Transphobia
Transsexuals
Women
Women--United States--Social conditions.
Women's rights
Women's studies (may subdivide geographically)

Sources for E-books

eBooks from Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Search e-books by bibliographic information or through the full-text search limiter. These e-books are PDF or ePUB format and can be read on a computer or downloaded to other devices.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central has credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. It delivers a limited selection of 2000+ titles from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.

Videos

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 30,000 films and includes titles from BBC, Criterion Collection, and Media Education Foundation. Kanopy features include browsing by subject or using a search box, setting up clip/play lists, and sharing or embedding videos.
Alexander Street Press Videos This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press Video includes a variety of streaming videos including documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels. These videos are not available from other streaming services. Currently videos cannot be played on mobile phones or tablets.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.

Government Documents

The library's book search includes those government documents in our collection. You can also search the Catalog of Government Publications for all publicly issued documents since 1976.

Agencies with related documents and important individual documents: