LibGuides: Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions: Find Articles

Librarian

Annisija Hunter

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

(605) 688-5571

Subjects: Biology & Microbiology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Health & Medical Sciences

Quick Links

Briggs Databases
Wegner Databases
EndNote
Recommended for graduate students. Save, organize, and format your citations; attach pdf files to your references; and cite while you write in MS Word and Google Docs.
SDSU College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions

Top Recommended Research Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 21 million citations for biomedical literature, life science journals and online books. Includes some full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. A core research tool appropriate for the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences and bio-engineering. Free resource maintained by NIH and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

Want to learn more about PubMed? You can watch these video tutorials to upgrade your searches.

Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Search Science Citation Index Expanded, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, and Medline
Pharmacy Library (APHA) This link opens in a new window
Online access to American Pharmacists Association textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, and a variety of news sources. Request login from the College of Pharmacy or from Briggs Library staff.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related disciplines including drugs to treat mental illnesses. Respected resource from the American Psychological Association (APA). Articles, book chapters, dissertations, book reviews, and more. Extensive coverage 1800’s to present. Identify document types, research methodologies, assessment instruments, grants, funding sources.

PubMed (Wegner)
Access PubMed through Wegner Library.

SciFinder: Find Chemical Information

Scifinder-n This link opens in a new window
From CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society, coverage extends to chemistry, biochemistry, biology and other life sciences. Searching capabilities include drawing substances and reactions and searching from the drawings. Scifinder-n also includes PatentPak and MethodsNow. First-time users will need to create an account with the "first time users" link above. Accounts created for SciFinder will work with SciFinder-n.

Interlibrary Loan

If Briggs and Wegner do not have access to an article you need, don't panic and don't pay! Instead, try Interlibrary Loan. Briggs Library's Interlibrary Loan will work to get you a copy of the article for free. Go to the Briggs Library homepage and click on "Interlibrary Loan" in the blue box to request articles, or use the library chat for more assistance.

Systematic Reviews

AACP librarians recommend these platforms for literature searches for systematic reviews:

Find Case Studies/Case Reports

Find Case Reports (Briggs Library Guide)

Example Pharmacy Journals

Find more journals using Find Journal Searches at Briggs Library and Wegner Library.