LibGuides: Law Resources: Legislation

Library Databases

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus Research is a premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information,
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area. Includes full-text peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, country economic data, industry information, market research, and more. Databases searched include Business Source Premier, Regional Business News, eBook Collection and Audiobook Collection all from EBSCOhost.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
EBSCO MegaFILE This link opens in a new window
Combined search of Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases. Include magazine and journal articles, biographies, primary source documents, company profiles, photos, and maps. Some content back to 1800s.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple, but limited, way to broadly search for scholarly literature with very little ability to refine search results.
To link to Briggs Library subscriptions, click on the “hamburger menu” or the cog wheel to change “Settings” in Google Scholar. Select “Library Links.” Enter South Dakota State University in the search box. Check the appropriate box for SDSU, and click “Save”.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Covers criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Includes over 210,000 summaries of Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, documents, and unpublished research. Documents date from the 1960's to the present. Federally funded resource sponsored by U.S. Dept. of Justice and Executive Office of the President. Updated weekly.

Websites for Finding Laws

Congress.gov
Find laws passed by and bills introduced to congress. You can see each step in the progress from this site.
South Dakota Legislative Research Council
Official site for South Dakota Legislative research including session bills, Codified Law, Administrative Rules, the state Constitution and the Legislature
Brookings City Code of Ordinances
Brookings, SD municipal code
City of Brookings
Official web site for the City of Brookings, SD
Brookings County
Official website for Brookings County, SD
State laws
Links to laws from each state. Choose the state you are interested in then you can choose laws by broad categories or go to the state's official statutes.
Library of Congress Legislation
The Library of Congress has a lot of resources about legislation. Search for the topic or name of the legislation. You can later limit to different formats.
Legal Information Institute from Cornell University
We are a small not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost.