LibGuides: Ed Abroad Fair 2023: Ireland

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

SBL 123, Box 2115
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007

605.688.5957

Subjects: Arts & Sciences, Citing Sources, Counseling, Education, Education & Human Sciences, English & Multidisciplinary Studies, Geospacial Science Center of Excellence, Honors College, Languages, Psychology, Sociology, Teaching, Learning, & Leadership

Whether you're brainstorming ideas or finalizing your research, you are not alone! The library can help.

Say Nothing: A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland by Patrick Radden Keefe
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL HV6574.G7 K44 2019
Keefe explains the complicated history of the Troubles in Northern Ireland by looking closely at one tragic disappearance of a single mother.
The Princeton History of Modern Ireland by Richard Bourke (Editor); Ian McBride (Editor)
Call Number: Available online!
This book brings together some of today's most exciting scholars of Irish history to chart the pivotal events in the history of modern Ireland while providing fresh perspectives on topics ranging from colonialism and nationalism to political violence, famine, emigration, and feminism.
Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL E184.I6 M117 1996
The author chronicles his impoverished childhood and early experiences in the Catholic church, and describes his father's alcoholism and talent for storytelling, as well as the challenges and tragedies his mother faced, balancing painful memories with humor.

Interested in learning more about Ireland? Try out these databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area. Includes full-text peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each issue focuses on one controversial topic and includes an overview, background, chronology, and pro-con debates. Full-text back to 1923.

When you search in databases, use keywords to help refine your results. Here are some keywords to try:

Ireland By Drone (The Drone Collective):

What Were the Troubles? (Imperial War Museums):

English-Irish Dictionary (Gaeilge.ie)
Learn Irish from Foras na Gaeilge, an organization dedicated to promoting the language in Ireland.