LibGuides: Electrical Engineering Research Guide: Newspaper Assignment

Finding National News Sources

Introduction

The library subscribes to many newspapers online. There is also free access to many online news sources. Below are links to both library resources and free online news sources. (Note that the free sources often do not keep older stories online so you may not be able to access an article again later.)

Individual Newspapers

Argus Leader via ProQuest U.S. North Central Newsstream
US North Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
New York Times Online: Home
You need to create an account to the New York Times but, by following the instructions in the New York Times box on this page, the account is free.
Wall Street Journal via ProQuest Digitized Newspapers (Includes full text and image PDFs.)
This resource includes the full text of the Wall Street Journal from 2008 - present
This product is not searchable by topic but the full newspapers can be accessed by date. The images are scanned into PDFs.
This resource averages five days behind the current date.

Databases

ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies
Provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Full-text access from 1980 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
To find newspaper articles, once you have done your search, limit by Source Type. The Source Type limiter is under the search bar at the top of the screen.

Free News Sources Online

Searching News Sources

Develop Your Topic

What kind of electronic devices do you use?
Browse your favorite web sites such as shopping or technology sites.
Go to the library and walk around to see what electronic devices others are using.
Decide which device you want to search for.
Browse the Tech section of a specific newspaper or magazine.

Decide Which News Source to Search

Argus Leader Access the Argus Leader through ProQuest North Central Newspapers. Access from January 1, 1999 to the present.
New York Times Online: Home All students, faculty, and staff can now read unlimited articles from The New York Times directly on nytimes.com from anywhere in the world. Access includes all articles published on the website since 1996 as well as scanned issues going back to 1851. Activate your Account If you have never logged into the the New York Times, follow these steps to set up your access: 1. Go to accessnyt.com 2. Select South Dakota State University from the school search box 3. Follow the on-screen instructions to create an account using your SD State email address 4. Reactivate access after 365 days by following these same steps. Note: If you already have a personal NY Times subscription connected to your SD State email and would like to activate this library-provided one, you will need to first contact NY Times customer service at 1-800-698-4637 to cancel your individual subscription. Returning Users Once you've made your account, follow these steps to get those unlimited articles: 1. Go to nytimes.com 2. Click on "Log In" in the upper-right-hand corner of the screen 3. Enter your SD State email address and chosen password
Argus Leader via ProQuest U.S. North Central Newsstream US North Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies Provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Full-text access from 1980 to the present.
Wall Street Journal via ProQuest Digitized Newspapers (Includes full text and image PDFs.) This resource includes the full text of the Wall Street Journal from 2008 - present This product is not searchable by topic but the full newspapers can be accessed by date. The images are scanned into PDFs. This resource averages five days behind the current date.

New York Times

Create an account

All students, faculty, and staff can now read unlimited articles from The New York Times directly on nytimes.com from anywhere in the world. Access includes all articles published on the website since 1996 as well as scanned issues going back to 1851.

Activate your Account

If you have never logged into the the New York Times, follow these steps to set up your access:

Go to accessnyt.com
Select South Dakota State University from the school search box
Follow the on-screen instructions to create an account using your SD State email address 4. Reactivate access after 365 days by following these same steps.

Note: If you already have a personal NY Times subscription connected to your SD State email and would like to activate this library-provided one, you will need to first contact NY Times customer service at 1-800-698-4637 to cancel your individual subscription.

Returning Users

Go to nytimes.com
Click on "Log In" in the upper-right-hand corner of the screen
Enter your SD State email address and chosen password