LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering Research Guide: Books

Searching for Books

Look for Books and other media in Briggs Library:

Search for books in thousands of libraries Worldwide.

Search for ebooks from Ebsco

Search for ebooks in PorQuest Ebook Central

Subject Headings

Mechanical engineering
Mechanical engineers
Packing (Mechanical engineering)
Mechanical drawing
Engineering
Engineers
Machinery
Steam engineering
Agricultural mechanics
Communication in mechanical engineering
Diaphragms (Mechanical devices)
Diffusers
Heat engineering
Mechanical movements
Mechatronics
Optical engineering
Power trasmission
Production engineering
Mechanical engineering - Equipment and supplies
Electromechanical devices
Information storage and retrieval systems - Mechanical engineering
Mechanical engineering laboratories
Engineering laboratories
Robotics laboratories
MELTS (Computer system)
Mechanical engineering - vocational guidance
Mechanical engineering contracts
Engineering contracts
Robotics
Mechanics
Thermodynamics
Materials Science
Manufacturing
Biomechanical engineering
Acoustical Engineering

Sources for E-books

eBooks from Ebsco
Search e-books by bibliographic information or through the full-text search limiter. These e-books are PDF or ePUB format and can be read on a computer or downloaded to other devices.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebook Central has credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. It delivers a limited selection of 2000+ titles from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
JSTOR
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.

Videos

Kanopy
A collection of over 30,000 films and includes titles from BBC, Criterion Collection, and Media Education Foundation. Kanopy features include browsing by subject or using a search box, setting up clip/play lists, and sharing or embedding videos.
Alexander Street Press Videos
Alexander Street Press Video includes a variety of streaming videos including documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels. These videos are not available from other streaming services. Currently videos cannot be played on mobile phones or tablets.
PBS Video Collection
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, business & economics, and more.

Government Documents

Government publications include documents and media from all agencies of the international, federal, state, and local governments. These can usually be found online or in paper by using indexes such as the Catalog of Government Publication.

Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)
GovInfo.com
ScienceCinema
DOE ScienceCinema is a multimedia search tool provided by the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information, with video and audio files produced by DOE National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN).

Agencies with related documents and important individual documents:

Library of Congress
U.S. Energy Information Administration
ADAMS Public Documents
The Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) is the official recordkeeping system, through which the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) provides access to the following "libraries" or collections of publicly available documents:
*Publicly Available Records System (PARS) Library
*Public Legacy Library
Aerospace Medicine Technical Reports
From the Federal Aviation Administration, the Aerospace Medicine Technical Reports index is a listing of aviation research reports from 1961 to the present.
Defense Technical Information Center
Our mission is to preserve, curate, and rapidly share the knowledge gained from DoD’s annual multi-billion dollar investment in S&T, multiplying the value and accelerating capability to the warfighter.
Knowledge Core
From the U.S. Army Engineer Research & Development Center this is a service of ERDC's Information Science and Knowledge Management Branch that collects, preserves and distributes the ERDC's research publications and historical knowledge. The growing collection includes articles, technical reports, papers, photographs, and videos.
NASA STI Repository
The NASA STI Program manages a world-class collection of aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos created or funded by NASA.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Publications and statistics available from NHTSA.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
You can search, retrieve, and download EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site – all free of charge!
National Technical Report Library -- Public Access Portal
Search one of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results -- 2.2 million titles -- over 700,000 of which link to digitized full-text technical reports.
National Environmental Methods Index
NEMI is a searchable database that allows scientists and managers to find and compare analytical and field methods for all phases of environmental monitoring.

OSTI.gov
Formerly SciTech Connect, this resource is the primary search tool for the Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development results. Contains nearly 3 million citations, with citations for 1.5 million journal articles and 445,000 full-text DOE-funded reports. Also provides information about the history and organization of the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Resources date back to 1948.

ROSA P: Repository and Open Science Access Portal
ROSA P is the National Transportation Library's Repository and Open Science Access Portal. The name ROSA P was chosen to honor the role public transportation played in the civil rights movement, along with one of the important figures, Rosa Parks.
Science.gov - Physics
Browse a list of U.S. federal sites related to physics by searching for "physics" in the search box.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
Full-text access to technical reports from federally funded research including the reports from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

TRID
Integrated database that combines the records from the Transportation Research Board’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

USGS Publication Warehouse
Provides access to over 150,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>