LibGuides: Music: Books & More

Searching for Books

Look for Books and other media in Briggs Library:

Search thousands of libraries worldwide with WorldCat

Search for ebooks from Ebsco

Search for ebooks in ProQuest Ebook Central

Subject Headings

Music
Art music
Art music, Western
Classical music
Musical compositions
Musical works
Serious music
Western art music
Western music (Western countries)
Absence in music
Anger in music
Antisemitism in music
Anxiety in music
Art and music
Bach (Name) in music
Cataloging of music
Characters and characteristics in music
Choral music
Chords (Music)
Christmas music
Composition (Music)
Computer game music
Computer music
Crime in music
Dance music
Dramatic music
Emotions in music
Environmental music
Ethnicity in music
Exercise music
Feminism and music
Feminist music
Folk dance music
Folk music
Food in music
Freemasonry and music
Funeral music
Gender identity in music
Gesture in music
Girls in music
Government aid to music
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), in music
Homosexuality and music
Homosexuality in music
Humorous music
Indians in music
Instrumental music
Jazz
Male homosexuality in music
Marches
Masculinity in music
Mass media and music
Microtonal music
Military music
Motion picture music
Motion pictures and music
Music by African American composers
Music by black composers
Music by child composers
Music by gay composers
Music by Jewish composers
Music by lesbian composers
Music by women composers
Music with audience participation
Musical form
National music
New Age music
Orientalism in music
Pastoral music (Secular)
Patriotic music
People with disabilities in music
Popular music
Radio music
Regionalism in music
Revolutionary music
Rhapsodies (Music)
Romances (Music)
Sacred music
Sound effects music
Symbolism in music
Television and music
Television music
Time in music
Titles of musical compositions
Vocal music
Voice
Wedding music
World music

Electronic Reference Books

Oxford Music Online
More than 52,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Videos

JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance by Smithsonian Folkways
Call Number: Media: M1627 .J3 1990

Publication Date: 1990

This is a wonderful collection that includes videos and books covering over 500 video clips and 1200 pages about music and dance from over 100 countries.

Kanopy
A collection of over 30,000 films and includes titles from BBC, Criterion Collection, and Media Education Foundation. Kanopy features include browsing by subject or using a search box, setting up clip/play lists, and sharing or embedding videos.
Alexander Street Press Videos
Briggs library provides access to the following video collections through Alexander Street Press Video:
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Nursing Education in Video : Second Edition
- PBS

Government Documents

Government publications include brochures from all national parks and monuments. These can usually be found online or in paper by using the Catalog of Government Publication.

DiscoverGov
DiscoverGov is updating the resource that used to be known as the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP).
GovInfo.gov

Agencies with related documents and important individual documents: