LibGuides: Architecture: Finding Articles & Journals

Databases for Architecture

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 325 current print and e-journal titles, in addition to coverage of over 3,080 retrospective periodical titles. It also provides citations to over 800,000 articles, including citations to 20,000 architects' obituaries.

British Architectural Library Catalogue
Search the collections of the British Architectural Library, including books, articles, blog entries, drawings, journals, photographs, and other archival materials. Items not available at Briggs Library can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan, though we may need to order some materials directly from the British Architectural Library, which could take a week or more. Provided by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).
Collaborative Architecture, Urbanism, and Sustainability Web Archive (CAUSEWAY)
Search archived websites and other potentially ephemeral documents related to topics of architecture, urban fabric, community development activism, public space and sustainability. Created through a joint effort of the art and architecture librarians at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Johns Hopkins, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale universities, MIT, and the universities of Chicago and Pennsylvania, under the auspices of Columbia University Libraries and Information Services.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers over 1,600 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals. Publication years: 1975 to present
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/image access to articles from more than 150 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies.

Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Journals online collection includes over 170 titles. Some of the subjects covered include: Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities and Law. The benefit of utilizing the online version of the Oxford Journals is the ability to access finished manuscripts of journals before they are released in print.
Sage Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive bibliographic and full text database includes more than 645 journals. Topics covered include the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and science and technology.
Taylor and Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of over 1600 journals and reference works published by Taylor and Francis. Coverage varies by journal and full-text varies by subscription.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library includes access to over 1500 peer-reviewed journals, over 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases and is one of the world's most extensive multidisciplinary collections of online resources, covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Broad, multidisciplinary database provides access to thousands of full-text journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Open PRAIRIE This link opens in a new window
Open Public Research Access Institutional Repository and Information Exchange is SDSU’s institutional repository, providing access to publications of SDSU faculty, staff, and students.
ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Full-text access from 1980 to the present.
Nineteenth (19th) Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.

Briggs Library organizes journals by their Dewey Decimal call number. Most journals related to architecture can be found in the 720's:

720 -- Architecture
721 -- Architectural structure
722 -- Architecture to ca. 300
723 -- Architecture from ca. 300 to 1399
724 -- Architecture from 1400
725 -- Public structures
726 -- Buildings for religious purposes
727 -- Buildings for education & research
728 -- Residential & related buildings
729 -- Design & decoration

Many journals are available online, instead of in print. To browse the library's available periodicals online, use the Journals List by Subject.

Colossuss Architecture Magazine Archive
North Carolina Modernist Homes (NCMH) and Hanley Wood (parent company of ARCHITECT) have partnered to create this digital archive of 20th century architectural publications. Still a work in progress, it will be the largest digital archive of modern architecture magazines, with over 1.3 million pages, when complete.

Architecture Librarian

Kristin Echtenkamp

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

Phone: 605-688-5958

Subjects: Business Management & Economics, Communication & Journalism, Design