LibGuides: Community Development 792: Land Development Planning: Visual & Historical Sources

Finding Visual Sources

Please note that images found in these databases may be under copyright restrictions. Be sure to read the copyright notice before copying, altering, or reposting any media file and review the College Art Association's Code of Best Practices for Fair Use in the Visual Arts.

If you are unsure about how you can legally use a media file, Ask a Librarian for help.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is now on JSTOR. The Artstor website was retired on August 1, 2024. This link will now redirect to Artstor on JSTOR.

Provides access to more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Search for images by keyword, title, creator, geography, classification, collection, and date.

RIBApix
Search or browse over 80,000 images from the British Architectural Library's collections. Provided by the Royal Institute of British Architects.
Getty Images
Provides search and access to a wide variety of rights-managed (RM) and royalty-free (RF) images, as well as videos and music. In addition to a keyword search, this free database offers several limits to narrow your search, including RM versus RF, specific collection, image orientation, and style
Getty Search Gateway
Search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
Digital Library of South Dakota
The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities, as well as partners in the state of South Dakota, to digitize and provide access to photos and primary documents relevant to the history of South Dakota.
AIGA Design Archives
Includes more than 20,000 selections from AIGA’s annual juried design competitions dating from 1924 through the present. In addition, this resource features special collections of major American design firms and practitioners whose design accomplishments might otherwise not be preserved online or made available to the public.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps - South Dakota This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical maps of South Dakota communities created by Sanborn Map Company from 1867 to 1970. Large scale plans of a city or town, drawn to a scale of 50 feet to an inch, created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. Includes building outlines, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and property numbers. Plans often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood. Multiple editions allow community development to be tracked over time.

The National Map: Historical Topographic Map Collection
Access nearly 90,000 high resolution scans of historical USGS topographic maps, some dating as far back as 1884.
Scholar's Lab Digital Resources
Access the Scholars' Lab's GIS data, including datasets in many standard formats. Hosted by the University of Virginia.
Library of Congress Map Collections
Maps from the Library of Congress digital collections including general maps, Civil War maps, railroads, national parks, and more.

Briggs Library Government Documents Map Collection

Finding Historical Sources

SDSU Archives & Special Collections
South Dakota State University Archives and Hilton M. Briggs Library Special Collections contain the University Archives, as well as material related to South Dakota history and life. These two general collection areas include manuscript and archival materials, books, serials, audiovisual materials, artifacts and photographs.
South Dakota Agricultural Heritage Museum
Collections and exhibits depict technology, crops, and livestock. In addition the exhibits examine human experiences, institutions, and cultures that were shaped by the state's rural landscape and diverse environment.
Digital Library of South Dakota
The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities, as well as partners in the state of South Dakota, to digitize and provide access to photos and primary documents relevant to the history of South Dakota.
South Dakota State Archives
The State Archives of the South Dakota State Historical Society collects, appraises, accessions, describes, organizes, preserves, determines significance, and makes available manuscript collections, South Dakota state, county, and town government records, photographs, maps, and other archival materials which have permanent historical and research value.
Colossuss Architecture Magazine Archive
North Carolina Modernist Homes (NCMH) and Hanley Wood (parent company of ARCHITECT) have partnered to create this digital archive of 20th century architectural publications. Still a work in progress, it will be the largest digital archive of modern architecture magazines, with over 1.3 million pages, when complete.
ArchiveGrid
Provides access to over 2,000,000 descriptions of archival materials from archives, libraries, museums and historical societies from around the world.

Historic Contexts for Historical and Architectural Resources in South Dakota by Paul Putz
Call Number: F651 .P87 1989
SD COLLECTION/UPPER LEVEL
BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps - South Dakota This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical maps of South Dakota communities created by Sanborn Map Company from 1867 to 1970. Large scale plans of a city or town, drawn to a scale of 50 feet to an inch, created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. Includes building outlines, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and property numbers. Plans often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood. Multiple editions allow community development to be tracked over time.

Argus Leader via ProQuest U.S. North Central Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US North Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
Argus Leader via ProQuest Digitized Newspapers (Includes page images) This link opens in a new window
This resource includes the full-text of The Sioux Falls Argus Leader from 2010; The Des Moines Register from 2009. This product is not searchable by topic but the full newspapers can be accessed by date. The images are scanned into PDFs. This resource averages four days behind the current date.
ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Full-text access from 1980 to the present.

Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000
Contains questionnaires and instructions, plus individual histories of each census.
Historical Decennial Census, Reports
Contains historical census reports in PDF for 1790-2010.
Historical Statistics of the U.S.
Contains statistical abstracts from Colonial Times to the current issue.
County and City Data Books
Provides demographic, social and economic statistics for regions, divisions, states, counties and cities. Available through HathiTrust.

Not finding the statistics you need?

Visit our Statistical Sources Guide

Contact your Subject Librarian for Help!