LibGuides: Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering: Find Articles

Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering Subject Librarian

Nancy Marshall

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library
SDSU
1300 N Campus Dr
Brookings, SD 57007

605-688-5093

Subjects: Agriculture, Geography & Geospatial Sciences, Physics

Databases

Primary Databases
Additional Databases

Search in the following databases to find journal articles and other materials related to agricultural and biosystems engineering.

Agricola - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Over 4.8 million citations covering all aspects of agriculture from the National Library of Agriculture. Coverage goes back to 1970 and includes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Covers research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Full-text and indexed content from leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
ASABE This link opens in a new window
Search the publications of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ASTM Digital Library includes access to all ASTM standards, nine journals, selected technical reports, proceedings, and bulletins. Users are required to create a free account and log in to view full text. Additional information on accessing standards is available here.
Engineering Village - Compendex This link opens in a new window
Nearly 19 million references and abstracts from thousands of journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical reports. All aspects of engineering and applied science are covered: bioengineering, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, electronics and communications, mechanical and automotive engineering, and civil engineering. Coverage from 1969 to present.
ScienceDirect Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly peer-reviewed scientific, medical, and technical literature. Includes over 15 million articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and over 37,000 books, with coverage from 1823 to present. Subjects include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Agricola - National Library of Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Over 4.8 million citations covering all aspects of agriculture from the National Library of Agriculture. Coverage goes back to 1970 and includes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, and technical reports. This version of the database is free to anyone to search.
BIOSIS Previews - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all major areas in the life sciences, including biology, molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious disease, ecology and organismal biology. BIOSIS Previews has nearly 5,200 journals and over 21 million bibliographic records from journals, books, reports, meetings and U.S. patents dating from 1991 to present.
Dissertations & Theses Global (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC INTERNATIONAL This link opens in a new window
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC INTERNATIONAL is the most comprehensive and reliable collection of chemical and microbiological methods and consensus standards available. Many Official Methods have been adopted as harmonized international reference methods by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), International Dairy Federation (IDF), International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), and the Codex Alimentarius Commission.
OSTI.gov This link opens in a new window
Formerly SciTech Connect, this resource is the primary search tool for the Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development results. Contains nearly 3 million citations, with citations for 1.5 million journal articles and 445,000 full-text DOE-funded reports. Also provides information about the history and organization of the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Resources date back to 1948.

Journals

Use the Journals List to determine the library's access to specific publications. Enter the title of the newspaper, magazine, or journal to find out whether the library has access in print or online and the dates of our coverage.

Annual Reviews

Annual reviews contain critical reviews of significant primary research and recent developments in a subject area. They provide overviews of topics and can be used to identify key researchers and literature in a discipline. Search the full collection from the "Annual Reviews" link or select an individual title.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals covering major advances in the fields the fields of life, biomedical, physical, and social sciences.

SDSU has full access to all 51 journals under the S2O model.

APA Citation Style

ASABE Style

ASABE Guide for Authors Online

Interlibrary Loan

Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Keep in mind that the process may take several days for articles and ebooks and longer for print books. We encourage you to start your research early!

Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).