LibGuides: Survey Creation Tools: Home

Survey Tools

Collect Your Own Data!

Use one of these free survey tools to create a poll

Free Online Surveys
Free tool to create surveys, forms, polls, and more
Google Forms
Create a free Google account and use Google forms to create surveys and organize your results
Survey Monkey
Create your own Survey using Survey Monkey: Be sure to choose the free option!

Resources for Survey Question Creation

Books on Survey Questions and Design

Constructing Effective Questionnaires by Robert A. Peterson
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL HN29 .P45 2000
ISBN: 0761916407
Publication Date: 1999-12-23
At the heart of all successful survey research is asking the right questions. Constructing Effective Questionnaires is intended for all who commission, conduct, and evaluate research based on asking questions. From specific question wording to overall questionnaire design, the book is a comprehensive guide to this critical element of survey research.
Designing and Conducting Survey Research by Louis M. Rea; Richard A. Parker
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL HA31.2 .R43 2005
ISBN: 078797546X
Publication Date: 2005-09-28
Since it was first published in 1992, Designing and Conducting Survey Research has become the standard reference in the field for public and nonprofit managers who are responsible for conducting effective and meaningful survey research. This updated and expanded third edition builds on the first two volumes and contains additional statistical techniques, new reporting methods that meet the growing demands for accountability, and more user-friendly analysis methods. Clear, concise, and accessible, this guide explains how to conduct a survey research project from start to finish.
Handbook of Survey Research by Peter V. Marsden (Editor); James D. Wright (Editor)
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL HN29 .H294 2010
ISBN: 9781848552241
The Handbook of Survey Research, Second Edition' builds on its widely-recognized 1983 predecessor by updating its previous historical account of the development of survey research and the evolution of social science before going on to examine new and expanded usages of survey research during the past half century. Detailed chapters include: sampling; measurement; questionnaire construction and question writing; survey implementation and management; survey data analysis; special types of surveys; and integrating surveys with other data collection methods.
Improving Survey Questions by Floyd J. Fowler; Floyd J. Fowler
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL HN29 .F67 1995
ISBN: 0803945825
What is a good question? Although there are several potential sources for error in survey data, the validity of surveys is dependent upon the design of the question asked. This invaluable book shows how to word and format questions that will evoke the kind of answers for which they are designed and how to evaluate empirically survey questions.
Survey Methodology by Robert M. Groves; Mick P. Couper; James M. Lepkowski; Eleanor Singer; Roger Tourangeau; Floyd J. Fowler
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL HA31.2 .S873 2004
ISBN: 0471483486
Survey Methodology describes the basic principles of survey design discovered in methodological research over recent years and offers guidance for making successful decisions in the design and execution of high quality surveys. Employing the "total survey error" paradigm as an organizing framework, it merges the science of surveys with state-of-the-art practices. End-of-chapter terms, references, and exercises enhance its value as a reference for practitioners and as a text for advanced students.
Survey Research Methods by Floyd J. Fowler
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL HN29 .F68 2002
ISBN: 0761921907
With an emphasis on the importance of minimizing nonsampling errors through superior question design, quality interviewing, and high response rates, this book helps readers understand the relationship of data collection to figures and statistics based on the survey―and how much confidence to place in the reported results based on this relationship.

Librarian

Kristin Echtenkamp

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

Phone: 605-688-5958

Subjects: Business Management & Economics, Communication & Journalism, Design

Online books and journals

Interlibrary Loan

Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Keep in mind that the process may take several days for articles and ebooks and longer for print books. We encourage you to start your research early!

Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).

Survey Creation Tools: Home

What Is a Survey?