LibGuides: The Morrill Act & Land-Grant Institutions: Articles

Guide Contents

Information Services Department

Briggs Library Reference

Email Me

Contact:

SBL 123
Briggs Library, Box 2115
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007-1098

605-688-5107

Using the Library's Quick Search

On the library's home page use the Quick Search tab to access PRIMO Discovery Service. Quick Search searches the library's catalog and a number of the library's databases simultaneously.

More Databases to Search

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area. Includes full-text peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
ERIC Web (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides access to eight bibliographic and full-text databases including the Sioux Falls Argus Leader, Dissertations & Thesis at SDSU, EconLit, Physical Education Index, ProQuest Discovery, ProQuest Dissertations and Thesis and ProQuest Research Library. Coverage includes diverse subjects from popular and scholarly literature. The databases can be search all together or individually.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. This product also contains extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content. Searchable cited references are also provided.
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites. Topics included cover a broad range of subject areas.

Search Terms

Try a variety of search terms when looking for information on your topic. Ask a librarian to suggest search terms for your specific topic or use some of the terms below.

Morrill Act, land-grant, institutions, colleges or universities, Justin Morrill, Hatch Act, education, finance, populist, access, curriculum, mechanics, engineering, home economics, agriculture, Cooperative Extension Service, higher education, scholarship, research.