Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources
Teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.
Resources on OER
Nova Opens Up - A Virtual Event for Open Education Week 2017
Videos of 8 sessions from an online conference on Open Educational Resources
Supporting Student Success with Open Educational Resources
"In this webinar, Michelle Barron-Lutzross of bepress Consulting Services discusses ways to integrate OER into the institutional repository, a strategy that allows libraries to play a pivotal role in the success of OER on campus. She parses recent research on OER, describes strategies for faculty awareness and engagement, and shares examples from successful OER collections in several IRs."
A Review of the Effectiveness & Perceptions of Open Educational Resources as Compared to Textbooks by J. Hilton, 2016
Students spend a lot of money on textbooks. Alternatives to the expensive textbooks that come from commercial publishers are open educational resources, or OER. But, are these free resources as effective or of the same quality as textbooks? The research says yes. This video summarizes the available research synthesized in Hilton, J. (2016) Open educational resources and college textbook choices: a review of research on efficacy and perceptions. Education Tech Research and Development, 64(4), 573 - 590.
Calculators & Other OER Apps
Find OER Resources
Sponsored by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (IKSKME). The OER Commons provides a platform for the creation, review, and use of OER resources for all levels. Site includes textbooks, lesson plans, activities/labs, lectures, syllabi, interactive, and other types of sources.
Developed by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning and now run by a consortium of universities, this system hosts OER content that is peer-reviewed and for higher education. This site has textbooks and many other resource types. Each item is reviewed by a peer-reviewer and by individuals.
University of Minnesota Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Started at Rice University, Openstax provides textbooks and "pages" that contain exercises or lesson plans.
Mason OER Metafinder
Real time search across 21 different sources of open educational materials.
SUNY OER courses
SUNY has created a variety of OER full courses. This includes courses across many subject areas. Courses include faculty resources such as powerpoints, test banks and other ancillary materials.
This is a group of links to ancillary content for OER.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 78 different sources and contains 317,311 records.
OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
This system includes not only textbooks but supplementary materials such as homework exercises, worksheets, visualizations, simulations, exemplars/case studies, and experiments. They also map for purchase textbooks and create free textbooks using the outlines of commercial books.
Open Educational Resources from all the Institutional Repositories hosted on bepress.
California Open Online Library for Education provides open online resources including information such as ways to evaluate open resources for accessibility
List of sources of OER materials. Not a repository in itself, it links to many other repositories. It also has educational material to learn about OER and how to adopt it and adapt it.
PDXOpen: Portland State University OER
A variety of OER content published by Portland State University.
Sponsored by the Saylor Foundation, they put together open online courses on a variety of topics using open content. Content in the courses is reviewed by subject consultants.
Affordable Learning Solutions
Affordable Learning Solutions enables faculty to choose and provide more affordable, quality educational content for their students. Developed by California State University system.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia.
BC Campus OpenEd
The goal of the project was to make higher education more accessible by reducing student cost through the use of openly licensed textbooks.
JSTOR Community Collection
Primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.