Aviation: Data and Statistical Sources

International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.

The Airline Data Project (ADP) was established by the MIT Global Airline Industry Program to better understand the opportunities, risks and challenges facing this vital industry. The ADP presents the most important airline industry data in one location in an easy-to-understand, user-friendly format.

The ASRS database is the world's largest repository of voluntary, confidential safety information provided by aviation's frontline personnel, including pilots, controllers, mechanics, flight attendants, and dispatchers. The database provides a foundation for specific products and subsequent research addressing a variety of aviation safety issues.

The FAA conducts research to ensure that commercial and general aviation is the safest in the world. You will find information about how the research is done, the resulting data and statistics, and information on funding and grant data.

A continually growing catalog of publicly available NASA datasets, APIs, visualizations, and more.

National Institute of Standards and Technology provide scientific and technical data.

Find data and statistics on a wide variety of transportation and travel related issues, addressing all modes and types of transportation in the United States.

National Transportation Statistics presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security. This is a large online document comprising more than 260 data tables plus data source and accuracy statements, glossary and a list of acronyms and initialisms.

Statistics On-Line Database presents information on transportation and transportation-related activities among Canada, the United States and Mexico, both within individual countries and between the countries. This database is accessible in table and time series formats, and covers twelve thematic areas, including transportation and the economy, transportation safety, transportation’s impact on energy and the environment, passenger and freight activity, and transportation and trade.

The NTSB aviation accident database contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters. Generally, a preliminary report is available online within a few days of an accident. Factual information is added when available, and when the investigation is completed, the preliminary report is replaced with a final description of the accident and its probable cause. Full narrative descriptions may not be available for dates before 1993, cases under revision, or where NTSB did not have primary investigative responsibility.

NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) hold over 2,700 atmosphere data sets.

Historic weather data for Canada.

Search and access 201 data sets covering the Atmosphere, Ocean, Land and more. Explore climate indices, reanalyses and satellite data and understand their application to climate model metrics.

The national Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration's maps and data site.

Many of the National Weather Service data sets are available in formats that are able to be imported directly into Geographic Information Systems (GIS) or your own custom map viewers or web pages.

NASA's Earth Observing System (EOS) comprises a series of satellites, a science component and a data system which is called the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS). EOSDIS distributes thousands of Earth system science data products and associated services for interdisciplinary studies.

The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) provides access to a map library of over 100 high resolution vector and raster layers in the Geospatial Data Warehouse. It is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at any time, from anywhere, to anyone. It allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data, customize the format, then review and download.

Geospatial Platform is a Federal Geographic Data Committee initiative that provides shared and trusted geospatial data, services, and applications. Search our massive catalog of geospatial data and tools provided by a multitude of federal agencies.

Data sets from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services.

The Unidata Program helps researchers and educators acquire and use earth-related data.

Data from a network of automated weather reporting states throughout South Dakota. Current and archival data available.