LibGuides: Human Development and Family Studies: Searching for Information

Using the Library's Quick Search

On the library's home page use the Quick Search option to access PRIMO Discovery Service. Quick Search searches the library's catalog and a number of the library's databases simultaneously.

Find Books

Conduct a search using Quick Search on the library's home page. Look for the Source Type limiter. Select Books to limit your results list to this type of resource.

Primary Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Focused on literature in psychology and related disciplines. Respected resource from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes scholarly articles, book chapters, dissertations, book reviews, and editorials. Indexes more than 4 million records and offers extensive coverage from the 1800’s to the present. Allows users to identify document types, research methodologies, tests or assessment instruments, and grant or funding sources.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of nearly 200,000 articles from over 110 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations. Coverage for APA journals is usually back to volume 1, issue 1. Full-text of articles are also linked to records in PsycINFO which searches a broader range of materials.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Some citations link to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. A premier database for biomedical research, the database is a core research tool appropriate for researchers in the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), the database also links to other NCBI resources.
MEDLINE - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 60 languages. Covers biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering, clinical care, public health, health policy development, and aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Coverage from 1950 to present.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. This product also contains extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content. Searchable cited references are also provided.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
ERIC Web (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost This link opens in a new window The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).

More Information

The library's Research 101 guide has more information about the research process.

Journals

Looking for a specific journal? Run a preliminary search in Quick Search on the library's home page (for example type in start). Once you have a results list click on the FIND A JOURNAL option which is located towards the top of the page. Enter the title of the newspaper, magazine, or journal to find out whether the library has access in print or online and the dates of our coverage.