LibGuides: Engineering Research Guide: Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Databases

Start your research in these general engineering and subject-specific mechanical engineering databases. See a fuller list of engineering databases on the "Engineering Resources" tab of this guide.

ASME Digital Collection
Includes full-text access to the journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). Topics covered include various aspects of manufacturing, dynamics, applied mechanics and engineering design.
ASTM Digital Library

ASTM Digital Library includes access to all ASTM standards, nine journals, selected technical reports, proceedings, and bulletins. Users are required to create a free account and log in to view full text.
TRID
Integrated database that combines the records from the Transportation Research Board’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Engineering Village - Compendex
Nearly 19 million references and abstracts from thousands of journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical reports. All aspects of engineering and applied science are covered: bioengineering, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, electronics and communications, mechanical and automotive engineering, and civil engineering. Coverage from 1969 to present.
IEEE Xplore
Indexes publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. SDSU subscribes to the journals but not the proceedings that are indexed in this publication.

Professional Associations and Organizations for Mechanical Engineering

U.S. Department of Energy
Information on energy programs and data.
Society of Manufacturing Engineers
Site offers professional development resources and publications from the society.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Promotes the art, science & practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe.
Institution of Mechanical Engineers
The Institution of Mechanical Engineers provides life-long learning opportunities for our 110,000 members, many of whom will achieve professionally registered status.

Mechanical Engineering Websites

U.S. Department of Energy
Information on energy programs and data.
NASA's PubSpace
NASA, in collaboration with PubMed Central, is making NASA-funded research available. Additional information about the project is available at: NASA PubSpace.
Society of Manufacturing Engineers
Site offers professional development resources and publications from the society.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Promotes the art, science & practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe.
SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers
SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries.
ASHRAE - American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers
The Society and its members focus on building systems, energy efficiency, indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability within the industry. Through research, standards writing, publishing and continuing education, ASHRAE shapes tomorrow’s built environment today.

Citing Sources in ASME Style

The ASME citation style mostly follows the Chicago Manual of Style. The info below comes from the ASME general overview of their citation style:

Within the text, references should be cited in numerical order according to their order of appearance. The numbered reference citation within text should be enclosed in brackets.
In the case of two citations, the numbers should be separated by a comma [1,2]. In the case of more than two references, the numbers should be separated by a dash [5-7].
References should be listed together at the end of the paper; footnotes should not be used for this purpose.
References should be arranged in numerical order according to the sequence of citations within the text. Each reference should include the last name of each author followed by initials.
Journal Article Example:
- [3] Adams, Z., 2014, “Bending of an Infinite Beam on an Elastic Substrate,” ASME J Appl. Mech., 3, pp. 221-228.

Mechanical Engineering Books

Getting started with MATLAB : a quick introduction for scientists and engineers

Dynamic systems : modeling, simulation, and control

Applied mechanical design

Mechanical engineers handbook. Volume 1 : Materials and engineering mechanics

Fundamentals of Manufacturing Engineering Using Digital Visualization

Mechanical Engineering Journals

Journal of mechanical design
The Journal of Mechanical Design (JMD) serves the broad design community as the venue for scholarly, archival research in all aspects of the engineering design activity and welcomes contributions from all areas of design with an emphasis on design synthesis.
International journal of mechanical sciences
The International Journal of Mechanical Sciences (IJMS) is an international forum for the publication and dissemination of original work which contributes to greater scientific understanding of the main disciplines underpinning the mechanical, civil and material engineering sciences.
Materials Today
Materials Today is the flagship journal of the Materials Today family and is dedicated to covering the most innovative, cutting edge and influential work of broad interest to the materials science community.
Advanced Materials
Advanced Materials has been bringing you the latest progress in materials science every week for over 30 years. Read carefully selected, top-quality Research Articles, Reviews, and Perspectives at the cutting edge of the chemistry and physics of functional materials.
Wear
WEAR journal is dedicated to the advancement of fundamental and applied knowledge concerning the nature of wear of materials.
Advances in Mechanical Engineering
Advances in Mechanical Engineering (AIME) is a JCR Ranked, peer-reviewed, open access journal which publishes a wide range of original research and review articles and aims to advance the understanding of mechanical engineering by providing a platform for the publication of unique contributions in the field of mechanical engineering across a variety of topics.
ASME journal of heat and mass transfer.
The ASME Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer disseminates information of permanent interest in the areas of heat and mass transfer. Contributions may consist of results from fundamental research that apply to thermal energy or mass transfer in all fields of mechanical engineering and related disciplines. Also, archival results of research that focus on the evaluation of thermophysical properties associated with heat and mass transfer, as well as on the theory of heat and mass transfer, are published.
ASCE-ASME journal of risk and uncertainty in engineering systems, Part B. Mechanical engineering
ASCE-ASME Journal of Risk and Uncertainty in Engineering Systems, Part B: Mechanical Engineering disseminates research findings, best practices and concerns, and discussion and debate on risk and uncertainty related issues. The journal reports on the full range of risk and uncertainty analysis state-of-art and state-of-practice relating to mechanical engineering, including but not limited to risk quantification based on hazard identification, scenario development and rate quantification, consequence assessment, valuations, perception, communication, risk-informed decision making, design for resilience, uncertainty analysis and modeling, and other related areas.
ASME open journal of engineering.
ASME Open Journal of Engineering is a rapid turnaround, multidisciplinary, open access, and rigorously peer-reviewed publication that expands the ASME Journal Program to offer original research across the broad spectrum of all ASME technical communities.
Journal of Fluid Mechanics
Journal of Fluid Mechanics is the leading international journal in the field and is essential reading for all those concerned with developments in fluid mechanics. It publishes authoritative articles covering theoretical, computational and experimental investigations of all aspects of the mechanics of fluids

Find a Journal

Use the Journals List to determine the library's access to specific publications. Enter the title of the newspaper, magazine, or journal to find out whether the library has access in print or online and the dates of our coverage. Note that this search will find some ebooks that are in collections such as JSTOR.

Engineering Research Guide: Mechanical Engineering

Welcome to the Mechanical Engineering Guide