LibGuides: Architecture: Books

Searching for Books

Look for Books and other media in Briggs Library:

Search thousands of libraries worldwide with WorldCat

Search for ebooks from Ebsco

Search for ebooks in ProQuest Ebook Central

Subject Headings

Below is a sample of subject headings from the Library of Congress subject headings related to architecture. Many of these can be subdivided by geographical or chronological subdivisions.

Apartment houses, Cooperative
Architectural design
Architectural details
Architectural draing & design
Architectural firms
Architectural history
Architectural photography
Architectural models
Architecture
Architecture, Domestic
Building
Buildings
Castles
Churches
Dwellings, Prehistoric
Gated communities
Green roofs
Hotans
Palaces
Pueblos
Tipis
Wichiups
Sustainable architecture

Sources for E-books

eBooks from Ebsco
Search e-books by bibliographic information or through the full-text search limiter. These e-books are PDF or ePUB format and can be read on a computer or downloaded to other devices.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebook Central has credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. It delivers a limited selection of 2000+ titles from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
JSTOR
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.

Videos

Kanopy
A collection of over 30,000 films and includes titles from BBC, Criterion Collection, and Media Education Foundation. Kanopy features include browsing by subject or using a search box, setting up clip/play lists, and sharing or embedding videos.
Alexander Street Press Videos
Briggs library provides access to the following video collections through Alexander Street Press Video:
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Nursing Education in Video : Second Edition
- PBS
PBS Video Collection

This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, business & economics, and more.

Government Documents

Government publications include brochures from all national parks and monuments. These can usually be found online or in paper by using the Catalog of Government Publication.

Agencies with related documents and important individual documents:

Architecture: Books