Chat now!

Skip to main content

Lit Review: Home

Graduate Workshops

Spring 2019 Literature Review Graduate Workshops

Thursday, February 21 from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Briggs Library

SDSU librarians are offering in-person workshops to help with literature reviews. We are offering seven different sessions with each session repeated three times. Attend one, two, or three sessions depending on your interests. Sessions begin on the hour and last 45 minutes. Meet Subject Librarians and fellow grad students and enjoy food and beverages in the workshop lounge. 

To Sign Up Click Here!

Sessions

Lit Review 101
Covers the basics of a literature review. What is it? Why do we do it? Who will read it? We will examine examples of literature reviews and discuss strategies for starting the lit review process.

Linda Kott
Information Services Librarian

Writing Strategies
We will discuss organizational patterns for literature reviews. We will also examine strategies for paraphrasing and summarizing source passages and integrating them into your literature review. 

Nathan Serfling
Instructor & Writing Center Coordinator

EndNote
Store and organize your references with EndNote software, available to SDSU students, staff, and faculty. EndNote helps you organize your research process and facilitates documenting your sources as you write. The session will address downloading the software, setting up the organization component, and entering citations and bibliographies into papers.

Elizabeth Fox
Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian

Web of Science

‚ÄčLearn about the advanced features of this sophisticated database that includes science, social science, and humanities sources.

Nancy Marshall
Agriculture, Food & Environmental Sciences Librarian

Engineering Village/IEEE Explore
Learn how to search these engineering databases effectively by using subject terms, setting alerts, and building complex search commands in order to narrow in on the literature you need.

Morgan Sederburg
First-Year Experience Librarian

CINAHL/Sci Finder/Pub Med
Learn to conduct effective searches, export citations, and access full-text in these databases recommended for researchers in the health sciences and chemistry.

Mary Kraljic
Access Services Librarian

Open PRAIRIE and Resources for Graduate Students
Learn about SDSU's institutional repository and how it will make your research more discoverable. We will also discuss miscellaneous library resources helpful for grad students. 

Michael Biondo
Institutional Repository Coordinator

 

Subject Librarians

Whether you are just beginning to work on your literature review or are well into the process, your subject librarian is here to help you. Your subject librarian can help you design research strategies, access key databases, effectively use Briggs Library's information resources, and stay current in your field.  

Find your subject librarian by going to http://libguides.sdstate.edu/SubjectLibrarians   

Graduate Workshop

Lit Review poster

Resources

LibGuides Footer