LibGuides: Theatre: Books & Videos

Searching for Books

Look for Books and other media in Briggs Library:

Search for books in thousands of libraries Worldwide.

Search for ebooks from Ebsco

Search for ebooks in PorQuest Ebook Central

Subject Headings

Below are examples of subject headings to help you find literature about the theatre.

Acting
Acting--Auditions
Acting--History
Acting--Psychological aspects
Acting--Study and teaching
Acting--Vocational guidance
African American Theater
Clothing and dress--History
College theater
Community theater
Costume--History
Costume design
Costume designers
Drama--Technique
Drama Collections
Dramatic Criticism
Dramatic Production
Dramatists, American
Dramatuges
Monologues
One-Act Plays
Performing arts
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616--Dramatic production
Set designers
Stage
Stage lighting
Stage management
Theatre
Theater audiences
Theater critics
Theater-Dictionaries
Theater--England
Theater--Great Britain
Theater--History
Theater in art
Theater in literature
Theater--Ireland
Theater--Moral and ethical aspects
Theater--Political aspects
Theater--Production and direction
Theater--Religious aspects
Theater--Reviews
Theaters--Stage-setting and scenery
Theatrical companies
Theatrical Producers and directory
Voice culture

The Library of Congress maintains an extensive list of relevant subject headings. You can also search for individual playwrights and other people as subjects, as well as organizations such as theater companies.

Videos

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 30,000 films and includes titles from BBC, Criterion Collection, and Media Education Foundation. Kanopy features include browsing by subject or using a search box, setting up clip/play lists, and sharing or embedding videos.
Alexander Street Press Videos This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press Video includes a variety of streaming videos including documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels. These videos are not available from other streaming services. Currently videos cannot be played on mobile phones or tablets.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.

Government Documents

Government documents are available for virtually all topics. In theatre, the government publishes information on community development projects that sometimes include theatre projects. The Library of Congress, the Smithsonian, and the National Endowment for the Arts also have theatre related materials. Best of all, these resources are generally copyright free.

Library of Congress Theater Guide
Federal Theater Project 1935-1939
This collection of digitized items in the Library of Congress collection includes posters, pictures, musical scores, playbills, programs, scripts, etc. While not government documents themselves, the items in the collection is in the public domain due to age.
Theater Playbills and Programs Collection
These play bills and programs can be used to find information on the plays represented.
Clothes and Heritage: Chinese American Clothes from the Virginia Lee Mead Collection
Smithsonian has many collections of clothing that can be used as a guide to period and cultural costuming.
Envisioning the Future of Theater for Young Adults
Evaluates challenges and prospects of theaters in the United States in programming for young adults.
NEA Grants
The National Endowment for the Arts is a good source of grant funding for theater projects.