Chat now!

Skip to main content

EndNote: Preferences

Setting EndNote up to Work For You

Use the preferences to set EndNote up just for you. To get to the preferences:

Windows Mac
Click on the Edit menu Click on the EndNote menu
Click on Preferences (bottom of the menu list) Click on Preferences (second in menu list)
Find Full Text is important for everyone to set up. Change Case is important especially in fields that use acronyms or chemical formulas in titles. Other preferences are nice but often don't effect the functioning of EndNote.

Find Full Text

• Allows Find Full Text
• Allows Search Online

  • Click in all four of the options - Web of Knowledge Full Text Links, DOI (Digital Object Identifier), PubMed LinkOut (UI.S. National Library of Medicine), and Open URL.

Image of search options for full text searching in EndNote

  • In the Open URL Path box, put the URL for our Journals List: https://sdstate-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo-explore/citationlinker?vid=01SDBOR_SDB&lang=en_US

  • Authenticate with box is a bit more tricky.
    • If you are off-campus
      • http://excelsior.sdstate.edu/login?url=
      • Faculty and staff: login with computer/e-mail username and password
      • Students: login with MyState Online username and password
    • If you are on-campus - leave the box blank

Image of Authentication URL

Change Case

When a word or acronym appears in an article or book title, EndNote will change the capitalization to meet the standard for the style you are using. To prevent EndNote from changing the capitalization of words and acronyms:

  • Type a word or acronym in the box
  • Click the Add button

Image of adding a word to Change Case preference

Display Fields

What fields show when you are in your EndNote Library

  • For each column choose what field you want to display
  • Choose what you want the column heading to be

Image of Fields and Order

Example (based on settings above):

Image of fields as shown

You can choose whether to display all the authors in the author field or just the first author.

Display Fonts

What font do you want to see on your screen

  • Choose the font EndNote will use to display the library and labels as well as any time a font is not defined elsewhere.
    • Change size too
  • Does not effect citations inserted in documents

Display Font Screen

Duplicates

Keep or eliminate duplicates

  • Choose what fields EndNote compares to find duplicates
    • Choose only exact matches
    • Choose to ignore spacing and punctuation

Image of choosing how endnote recognizes duplicates

  • When you use the searching online capabilities, you can have EndNote automatically discard duplicates of records you already have in your library

Image of online search results duplicates choice

Folder Locations

Where to put new styles and other connection files

  • Choose the best location for you - default locations are not created when EndNote is installed.
  • When you download a new style or other file from EndNote or another source, you will need to save the file in the location you chose.

Image of folder locations in EndNote

Formatting

Formatting in Your Paper

  • EndNote can sometimes suggest format styles for your paper
    • This works in Microsoft Word but may not in other word processors

Image of CWYW suggestions

  • You can use temporary citations that are not formatted until you are done with the paper
  • Tell EndNote how to go from temporary to permanent citations

Image of author omition option

  • When using temporary citations, multiple entries for one work may be in the bibliography
  • Choose to merge them into one entry or not

Image of merging duplicates in the bibliography

Libraries

You can tell EndNote what library to open when you open the program:

  • Open the specified libraries
    • Opens a specific library every time EndNote is opened.
    • This works best if the library is stored on the computer's hard drive or a cloud storage that is synced to the computer's hard drive.
      • This does not work well if the library is stored on a flash drive or portable hard drive.
  • Open the most recently used library
    • If you have multiple libraries but you use one most of the time, this is a good option.
  • Prompt to select a library
    • You will be prompted to choose a library and can specify the location of the library.
    • If you share a computer this works well.
    • If you have your library on a portable drive this works well.
  • Do noting
    • This opens EndNote and does not open or prompt for a library.
      • You can open a library from the File menu later.

Image of choosing an action in opening

Read/Unread

When to automatically mark as read

  • View the reference in the Reference window, the article will be marked as read
  • View the reference int he Quick Edit pane, view the PDF in the PDF pane or view the citation in the preview pane
  • Rate the article

Image of choosing how to note a record as read

Reference Types

What type of source is the most common one you add?

  • Default reference type for manually adding records

Image of EndNote default document type

What pieces of information do you need in your records?

  • Create a whole new reference type
  • Modify an existing reference type

Image of editing a reference type

Share your reference type with your library

  • Sharing your library will require you share the reference type table as well
    • Sharing the reference type table will overwrite the reference type table in the other person's EndNote
  • Export and Import options are in the preferences window for reference types

Image of importing and exporting a reference type file

 

 

Sorting

Ignoring works in sorting

  • Author fields
    • May want to ignore parts of names like de
  • Title fields
    • Common words (a, an, the) are already listed
    • Articles in other languages can be added

Image of words/names to ignore in sorting

Sync

Sync with EndNote Web

  • Set up a free EndNote Web account
  • Sync your desktop library with your web library
  • Sync your iPad EndNote library with your web library

Set up an account

  • Click on Enable Sync button
  • Follow instructions
  • Once you have an account, enter the e-mail address and password for it.

Image of setting up an EndNote Web account and linking it

  • Choose which of the libraries you want to sync
  • Choose when to sync them.

Image of setting up which libraries to sync with EndNote Web

Spelling

Customize spell check

Image of spell check options

  • Download various dictionaries
    • Languages other than American English

Image of dictionaries in EndNote

Temporary Citations (for word processors other than Microsoft Word)

WordPerfect, Open Office Writer, Pages

  • Temporary citations are used until the paper is formatted
  • Choose how temporary citations are indicated
  • Choose how the EndNote record number is indicated
  • Choose how to at text before the actual citation
  • Choose how to indicate a note is included

Image of temporary citation preferences

Term Lists

Term List Activities

  • Allow EndNote to suggest terms as you type
  • When will the lists be updated
    • When importing or pasting references
    • When entering data

Image of Term List Preferences

 

URLs & Links

Log file

  • Keeps records downloaded after searching a database from within EndNote
  • Can download records again from this file

Image of Connection File Log Preference

  • ISI Base URL should not be changed.

Image of ISI Base preference

  • OpenURL Arguments - the default argument can be used as a model for the syntax of your own if you want to edit the argument.
    • Used to find full text

Image of OpenURL preference

  • Attached Files
    • Choose to copy the attachments
      • Allows the pdf to be copied with your library
      • All your attachments will be located in your My EndNote Library.data folder
    • Choose to link to the attachments in other locations on your computer
      • Moving your library results in a loss of the attachment

Image of the attached file preferences

LibGuides Footer