Chat now!

Skip to main content

EndNote: Bibliographies

Formatted Bibliographies

Create a bibliography without an accompanying paper.

  • In EndNote, select all the articles and books that you want included in the bibliography.
    • The records do not need to be in order, they will be put in order in your document.
  • Make sure that the style you want your bibliography formatted in.
  • Hold down <CTRL> and press K.
  • Go to your document and paste the bibliography in.
    • The bibliography is pasted in already formatted and the records are not linked to EndNote, it is just plain text that can be edited.

ResearcherID

  • ResearcherID allows you to create a profile and list of publications
  • It is associated with Web of Science
  • EndNote Online is used to add articles not in Web of Knowledge to your profile
  • EndNote Online is also used to manage citations in your bibliography

Chapter Bibliographies

You are writing a manuscript that contains several chapters. You would like to display a reference list at the end of each chapter but not at the end of the manuscript. The latest EndNote version can help you accomplish this task. You just need to do two things:

From the EndNote Library: modify the style

  • Go to Edit -->Output Styles --> Open Style Manager and choose the style you are using. For example, APA 6th
  • Click Edit and then click Sections from the lefthand panel when the style window opens. This allows you to create multiple reference list for a single Word document
  • Check “Create a bibliography for each section”
  • Save the style as a modified version of  APA 6th , such as APA 6th Bibliography

On the Word document: insert section break to each chapter and apply the modified style

For Mac Users (Word 2011)

  • Separate each chapter by going to Insert --> Section Break
  • Go to Tools --> EndNote --> Configure Bibliography making sure the style is set to the one you just modified, such as APA 6th Bibliography
  • Word document will automatically update the references and display them after each chapter.

For PC Users (Word 2010)

  • Separate each chapter by going to Page Layout  --> Break -->Next Page under Section Breaks
  • Click the EndNote tab on Word
  • Click the arrow at the right corner of Bibliography 
  • Configure Bibliography window opens making sure the style is set to the one you just modified, such as APA 6th Bibliography
  • Word document will automatically update the references and display them after each chapter.

Bibliographies Sorted by Type

Use a CV output style to organize citations in a way that is different than the standard bibliography. While EndNote has a CV style for APA 6th, in most cases, you will need to create a CV site.

Edit a style to create a CV version of it

  • Go to the Edit menu and mouse over Output Styles then click on Open Style Manager.
  • Find the style you want to use and open it.
  • Click on the Sort Order under the Bibliography heading on the left.
  • Click the Other button on the main part of the page.
  • Choose the way you want your works sorted.
    • Many CVs order their publications by type and then by year so choose Type of Work in the first box and Date in the second or whatever you want your sort criteria to be.
    • Note that you can have EndNote sort authored works before edited works with the click of a box.
  • Click on OK when you are done.
  • Click to close the style.
    • When you are prompted to save it, do and rename it appropriately when prompted (e.g. APA - CV).

Create a CV

You can now create a CV style bibliography by selecting the works you want included, making sure that EndNote is set to your CV style and holding down <CTRL> while typing K then pasting the bibliography into Word or another word processor.

 

LibGuides Footer