Chat now!

Skip to main content

Briggs Library Banner

Connect @Briggs Logo

Click here to complete the Briggs Library Survey and you could win $50.00 in Hobo Dough!

Help us make the library better by telling us what you think about our resources and services.

The survey will take approximately 15 minutes. At the end of the survey, enter your e-mail address to participate in the drawing for one of four $50.00 Hobo Dough prizes (two for undergrads, one for grad students, one for faculty/staff). The survey closes April 10.

English 101 Research Guide: Searching for Information

Resources to assist English 101 students with their research.

Using Library Databases

NEIU Library

General Databases

General databases cover many topic areas and are excellent resources for undergraduate research. Three general databases available through Briggs Library are listed below.

Using the Library's Quick Search

On the library's home page use the Quick Search option to access EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS).  Quick Search searches the library's catalog and a number of the library's databases simultaneously.

EBSCO Support Service

Subject-Specific Databases

Briggs Library provides access to over 100 databases. General databases cover a broad range of topics. Other library databases limit their coverage to certain topic areas. These are valuable for in-depth and scholarly research. Consult the library's Research Guides to identify recommended databases in your subject area. Below are just a few examples of subject-specific databases.

Off-Campus Access

If you are not using a networked computer on the SDSU campus when you click on an electronic resource (database) on the Briggs Library site, you will be asked to enter a username and password.

SDSU Students

  • Enter your MyState Online username. (This should be the same as your WebAdvisor login ID.)
  • Enter your MyState Online password. (This should be $ and then your student ID number, e.g. $1234567, unless you have changed your MyState Online password.)

Password Help: SDSU Computer Support Desk 605.688.6776 or SDSU.SupportDesk@sdstate.edu or contact SDSU Librarians.

 

LibGuides Footer