Chat now!

Skip to main content

Briggs Library Banner

Connect @Briggs Logo

Click here to complete the Briggs Library Survey and you could win $50.00 in Hobo Dough!

Help us make the library better by telling us what you think about our resources and services.

The survey will take approximately 15 minutes. At the end of the survey, enter your e-mail address to participate in the drawing for one of four $50.00 Hobo Dough prizes (two for undergrads, one for grad students, one for faculty/staff). The survey closes April 10.

English 101 Research Guide: MLA Citation Style

Resources to assist English 101 students with their research.

MLA Citation Style

For English 101 you will use MLA (Modern Language Association) citation style. MLA requires you to note in the text of your paper every time you borrow information from a source, whether you quote, paraphrase, or summarize. In-text citations are brief and are used in conjuction with a Works Cited list with more complete information about your sources.

MLA Manual

The MLA Handbook, 8th edition, is the ultimate guide for using this citation style. The St. Martin's Handbook and credible online resources for using MLA citations are all based on the MLA Handbook. The library has two copies; ask for them at the Library Services desk.

Database-Generated Citations

Some databases offer help in generating formatted citations.  In EBSCO databases look for this feature in the Tools menu. Caution! While this feature may save time, it usually does not generate error-free citations. You need to check the citations carefully using the MLA Handbook or another reputable source based on the MLA Handbook.

MLA 8th Edition

MLA Help Online

Citation Engines

There are several online "engines" where you can enter information about your source and generate a citation. Caution! While these tools may save time, they usually do not generate error-free citations. You need to check the citations carefully using the MLA Handbook or another reputable source based on the MLA Handbook.

Briggs Library MLA Research Guide

St. Martin's Handbook

MLA information in The St. Martin's Handbook is based on the MLA Handbook.

LibGuides Footer