Chat now!

Skip to main content

MLS 471 - Medical Lab Science: Researching a Case Study

Resources for Dr. Brandhagen's case-study course assignment.

Journals

Journals List
Enter the title of a journal, magazine, or newspaper to find out whether the library has access in print or online and to see the dates/volumes available.

Recommended Research Databases

To find information about case studies (or case reports), try the databases below.

Find a Sample Case Study

Clinical Laboratory Science: Each issue of this journal includes at least one case study. Search the Briggs Library Journals List for the title,  CLINICAL LABORATORY SCIENCE, published by the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science.    You can search the Journals List from the box at left or from the Briggs Library homepage.

PubMed:  This medical database is a good source for case studies, too.  Search the name of a disease or condition and use the menu on the left side of the  PubMed screen to select Article Types=Case reports. 

Prime: This commercial website for continuing medical education provides sample case studies for pharmacists and other health profesisonals.

Find Background Information and More

To find background information on a disease, two "quick" and trusted sources include Clinical Key and Dynamed.  (Tip:  Look for a "First Consult" link in your Clinical Key search.) Use Access Medicine for more more indepth and related information.  These three resources are available to you as part of the College of Pharmacy's partnership with the Wegner Health Science Information Center in Sioux Falls. Use your MyState Online login to access any Wegner Partner resources. 

For even more information on your topic, use PubMed or Medline databases. Find links for these resources on the left side of this page.

Need more background information?  Look at additional resources in our Guide to Pharmacy Research.

Database search tips

Boolean Operators allow you to narrow or broaden a database search.

AND
Use AND to combine search terms that describe different concepts within your research topic. Using AND will narrow your search. For example, CYSTIC FIBROSIS is a broad search term. CYSTIC FIBROSIS AND DIAGNOSIS will narrow your search by selecting database records that contain both the phrase CYSTIC FIBROSIS and the word DIAGNOSIS. You may link several search words or phrases with AND to continue narrowing your search: CYSTIC FIBROSIS AND THERAPY AND ADOLESCENTS.

OR
Use OR to combine synonyms or search terms that describe a single concept within your research topic.  Using OR will broaden your search.  For example, ALS OR AMYOTROPHIC LATERAL SCLEROSIS OR LOU GEHRIG'S DISEASE. 

NOT
Use NOT to eliminate a word or phrase from your search results, and so it will narrow your search.  For example, FEMALE NOT ADOLESCENT. Caution: using NOT may eliminate some relavent records from your search results.

Truncation allows you to search a word root with various endings.

Most databases use an asterisk * as the primary truncation symbol.
DIAGNOS* = diagnose, diagnoses, diagnosing, diagnosis, diagnostic, etc.

Phrase Searching

Some, but not all, databases require use of quotation marks to search and exact phrase:  
"CYSTIC FIBROSIS" or "ETHYLENE GLYCOL POISONING"

Additional Search Tips may be available from the database website that you are searching.  Look for a HELP button, a tutorial or a search tips link. 

 

Librarian

Mary Kraljic's picture
Mary Kraljic
Contact:
605-688-4049

Briggs Library

SBL 2115 North Campus Drive

Brookings SD 57007
LibGuides Footer