American Indian and Indigenous Studies Research Guide: Government Documents

Databases, Indexes, and Abstracts

For more information about library databases see the Articles and Databases page.

• CIS U.S. Serial Set Index (Government Documents/Lower Level Index Area J74 C66)
• Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents 1789-1976 (Government Documents/Lower Level Index Area Z1223 Z7)
• Indian Country Today Index (Main Level Index Area 070 L322) (Indian Country Today newspaper, formerly the Lakota Times)
• Monthly Catalog of Government Publications (Government Documents/Lower Level Index Area 016.328 Un3.58 1895-2004, online post 1976)
• EBSCOhost
• ERIC
• JSTOR
• LexisNexis Academic
• Marcive WebDocs
• SocIndex

• American Indian Area, Alaska Native Area, Hawaii Homeland (Census 2000) (Government Documents CDRom C 3.275:Am3)
• Annual Reports of Commissioner of Indian Affairs. (ARCHIVES I 20.1)
• Annual Reports of the Bureau of Ethnology (Documents SI 2.1:yr.)
• The Ghost Dance Religion and the Sioux Outbreak of 1890 (Documents SI 2.1:893/pt. 2)
• Atlas of the Sioux Wars, 2nd ed. Documents D 110.2:SI 7/2006
• Congressional Record (Microforms Lower Level X: ask for assistance in Government Documents Office)
• A Handbook of North American Indians. (Govt. Doc. SI 1.20/2:)
• Kappler's Indian Affairs Laws and Treaties (Government Documents Index Area Y4.In2/2:L44)
• Portrait Index of North American Indians in Published Collections. (Govt. Doc. LC 1.2:P 83/3/996)
• U.S. Congressional Serial Set (Compact Shelving, Lower Level. Ask for assistance in Documents Office)

Internet Resources

• American Indian and Alaska Native Data and Links (AIAN) U.S. Census Bureau American Factfinder
• Annual Reports of the Bureau of Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
• Bureau of Indian Affairs
• National Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA) 
• Treaty of Fort Laramie, 1851. Sept. 17, 1851. | 11 Stats., p. 749.
• Treaty With the Sioux—Brule, Oglala, Miniconjou, Yanktonai, Hunkpapa, Blackfeet, Cuthead, Two Kettle, Sans Arcs, and Santee—and Arapaho,1868. Apr. 29, 1868. | 15 Stats., 635. | Ratified, Feb. 16, 1869. | Proclaimed, Feb. 24, 1869.
• U.S. Department of the Interior
• Bureau of Land Management - Tribal Consultation

Not finding what you need?

Visit our Government Information Guide

or

Contact our Government Documents Librarian for Help!