English translations of classical literature by 59 authors (as of 2018). Most of the works available from this site are Greko-Roman in origin but there are some Chinese and Persian works as well. In addition to the texts themselves, user-driven commentary is included. The texts are searchable.
Authors include, but are not limited to, Aeschylus, Aesop, Appollodorus, Aristophanes, Aristotle, Marcus Aurelius, Julius Caesar, Cicero, Hippocrates, Horace,Plato, Plutarch, Sophocles, Thucydides, Confucius,Lao-tzu, Sun Tzu, and Omar Khayyam.
This site includes curricular support for courses in literature and liberal studies. This includes the texts to works that are in the public domain (are no longer covered by copyright). Some of the works are available in Word or Publisher format but all are available in html.
Authors include, but are not limited to, John Bunyan, Charles Darwin, Rene Descartes, Denis Diderot, Franz Kafka, Immanuel Kant, Jean-Baptiste Lamarck, John Stuart Mill, Friedrich Hietzsche, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Wedekind.
This site also includes the texts of various public lectures and notes to help students in their studies. Most of the materials come from the Vancouver Island University (formerly Malaspina College).
Perseus Digital Library contains the texts of works from several locations/times. Materials on the site include texts and commentaries in English, Greek, Arabic, Old Norse, Latin, and probably other languages. In addition to the texts, the site contains pictures and information about art and archaeological artifacts.
Authors and works include, but are not limited to, The Quran (in English and Arabic), Beowulf (in Old English and moder English), Louisa may Alcott, James Buchanon, Jefferson Davis, Horace Greeley, Sir Francis Bacon, James I (King of England 1566-1625), and Shakespeare.
Theoi (meaning Gods in Greek) includes information on Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The site includes translations of Greek myths as well as Classical Literature. It also includes many images of Greek gods. There is a page for each God and Goddess including the myths they appear in, their family tree, an encyclopedia entry covering them, quotes from classical literature, images from art, and a list of sources.
The site also includes texts including, but not limited to, works by Hesiod, Aeschylus, Plutarch, Ovid, Seneca, Virgil,
This site has over 15,000,000 free downloadable books and texts that are in the public domain (out of copyright) from libraries around the world. There are also over 500,000 modern works that can be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account. Works are in English, German, French, Dutch, Arabic, Spanish and more.
JSTOR offers over 4000 open access books for anyone to use. Many of these books are recent and have been published as open access (freely available to anyone).
Project MUSE offers almost 1000 open access (freely available to anyone) books. These books tend to be scholarly research.
ETANA is a collaborative between several institutions. Texts valuable for ancient Near Eastern studies have been digitized. The texts are copyrighted by ETANA but are offered freely for use for noncommercial teaching and research purposes. The site also include eTACT which aims to be the definitive repository on the web for translations of Akkadian materilas.
