LibGuides: Visual Arts: Articles & Journals

Databases for the Visual Arts

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/image access to articles from more than 150 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers over 1,600 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals. Publication years: 1975 to present

ACM Digital Library
Search the Association for Computing Machinery's library of materials related to computing and information technology.
BHA and RILA
Search the Bibliography of the History of Art and the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art. Provided by the Getty Research Institute.
InformeDesign
Search or browse over 2,400 research summaries, tutorials, white papers, web casts, and case studies related to interior design, graphic design, architecture, and landscape architecture.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple, but limited, way to broadly search for scholarly literature with very little ability to refine search results.
To link to Briggs Library subscriptions, click on the “hamburger menu” or the cog wheel to change “Settings” in Google Scholar. Select “Library Links.” Enter South Dakota State University in the search box. Check the appropriate box for SDSU, and click “Save”.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 325 current print and e-journal titles, in addition to coverage of over 3,080 retrospective periodical titles. It also provides citations to over 800,000 articles, including citations to 20,000 architects' obituaries.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area. Includes full-text peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Broad, multidisciplinary database provides access to thousands of full-text journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Visual Arts Librarian

Kristin Echtenkamp

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

Phone: 605-688-5958

Subjects: Arts & Sciences, Citing Sources, School of Design

Quick Links

Researching Artists Guide

Interlibrary Loan

Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Keep in mind that the process may take several days for articles and ebooks and longer for print books. We encourage you to start your research early!

Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).