Chat now!

Skip to main content

UA 42.4 Office of Information Technology records, Delmar R. Johnson records as Director of University Computing Services: Home

This collection is composed of records collected by Delmar Johnson while he served as director of University Computing Services (1982-2003) and director of Administrative and Research Computing (2003- ) at South Dakota State University.

Summary Information

Repository                  South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections

Creator                       Delmar R. Johnson

Title                             Office of Information Technology records: Delmar R. Johnson records as Director
                                    of University Computing Services

Date [bulk]                 1974-2000

Date [inclusive]          1967-2009

Extent                         4.0 linear feet – 4 records boxes

Language                    English

Abstract                      This collection is composed of records collected by Delmar Johnson while he served as director of University Computing Services (1982-2003) and director of Administrative and Research Computing (2003- ) at South Dakota State University.

Preferred Citation      Office of Information Technology Records, Delmar R. Johnson papers [UA 42.4], South Dakota State University Archives and Hilton M. Briggs Library Special Collections.

Historical Note

Delmar R. Johnson was born July 17, 1947 in Mitchell, South Dakota.  He received his BS in Mathematics from South Dakota State University in 1969.  He received a Master of Education from the same institution in 1991. 

Johnson started his career at South Dakota State University in 1969 as a programmer.  He taught mathematics and computer programming from 1969-1974.  In 1982, he accepted a position as Co-director of the Computing Center.  He eventually, became the director of University Computing Services.  He continued in this capacity until 2003.  He then became the director of Administrative and Research Computing.

Del Johnson retired from the university in 2012.

Contents Note

This collection is composed of records collected by Delmar Johnson while he served as director of University Computing Services (1982-2003) and director of Administrative and Research Computing (2003- ) at South Dakota State University.  The bulk of the records are composed of files of the director of University Computing Services.  These records consist mainly of correspondence and meeting minutes and records for various committees related to computing services at South Dakota State University. Also included are files related to the network re-build that occurred around 2000.

Arrangement

This collection is arranged alphabetically.

Administrative Information

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open to research. Items in the Archives do not circulate and may be used in-house only. Researchers are asked to make an advance appointment to access archival material. Due to limited staffing, we are unable to identify, locate, and retrieve requested materials on a walk-in basis. Please call or e-mail prior to visiting the collection and indicate as much detail as possible about a particular topic and intended use.

South Dakota State University supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted as a result of their fragile condition or by contractual agreements with donors.

Copyright note

Copyright restrictions apply in different ways to different materials. Many of the documents and other historical materials in the Archives are in the public domain and may be reproduced and used in any way. There are other materials in the Archive carrying a copyright interest and must be used according to the provisions of Title 17 of the U.S. Code. The Archive issues a warning concerning copyright restrictions to every researcher who requests copies of documents. Although the copyright law is under constant redefinition in the courts, it is ultimately the responsibility of the researcher to properly use copyrighted material.

Source of Acquisition

Del Johnson transferred these records to the archives upon his retirement in 2012.

Arranged and Described by

Crystal J. Gamradt, Archivist, January 14, 2016

Key Words

Corporate names

South Dakota State University – University Computing Services
South Dakota State University -- Administrative and Research Computing

Personal names

Johnson, Delmar R. -- 1947-

Container List

Box      Folder    Folder title                                                                                                                           Date(s)
  1           1           Circular A-21 Task Force - Cost Principles for Educational Institutions                              1979-1981
  1           2           Computer Assisted Instruction (CAI) Committee                                                                1974-1980
  1           3           Computer Assisted Instruction (CAI) Committee                                                                1975-1980
  1           4           Computer Capacity and Configuration Planning Task Force                                              1985
  1           5           Computer Labs                                                                                                                   1997
  1           6           Computer Science Advisory Committee                                                                             1967-1980
  1           7           Computer Science Committee                                                                                            1974-1980
  1           8           Computer Science Instructional Committee                                                                       1973-1974
  1           9           Computer Services Advisory Committee                                                                            1971-1979
  1         10           Computer services Advisory Committee                                                                             1978-1981
  1         11           Computer User's Advisory Committee                                                                                 1974-1975
  1         12           Computer User's Advisory Council (CUAC) - Minutes                                                        1982-1986
  1         13           Computer User's Advisory Council (CUAC) - Minutes                                                        1986-1991
  1         14           Computing Directors Task Force                                                                                         1988-1990
  1         15           Computing Services Staff Meeting - Minutes                                                                      1986
  1         16           Copy Center Committee                                                                                                      1980
  1         17           Correspondence - B                                                                                                            1974-1978
  1         18           Correspondence - C                                                                                                            1973-1987
  1         19           Correspondence - D                                                                                                            1974-1988
  1         20           Correspondence - Graduate Faculty                                                                                   1973-1990
  1         21           Correspondence - H                                                                                                            1975-1987
  2           1           Correspondence - IBM                                                                                                        1975-1985
  2           2           Correspondence - IBM                                                                                                        1986-1988
  2           3           Correspondence - IBM                                                                                                        1989-1991
  2           4           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1987
  2           5           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1988
  2           6           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1989
  2           7           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1990
  2           8           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1991
  2           9           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1995
  2         10           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1996
  2         11           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1996
  2         12           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1997
  2         13           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1997
  2         14           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1998
  2         15           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1999
  2         16           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        1999
  2         17           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        2000
  2         18           Correspondence - Miscellaneous                                                                                        2002-2009
  2         19           Correspondence - P                                                                                                            1975-1986
  3           1           Correspondence - Pierre                                                                                                     1982-1985
  3           2           Correspondence - Pierre                                                                                                     1986
  3           3           Correspondence - Pierre                                                                                                     1987
  3           4           Correspondence - Pierre                                                                                                     1988
  3           5           Correspondence - Pierre                                                                                                     1989
  3           6           Correspondence - President Berg                                                                                       1975-1983
  3           7           Correspondence - President Hoops                                                                                    1984
  3           8           Correspondence - S                                                                                                            1975-1986
  3           9           Correspondence - SDSU Campus                                                                                      1991
  3         10           Correspondence - SDSU Campus                                                                                      1991
  3         11           Correspondence - SDSU Campus                                                                                      1992
  3         12           Correspondence - SDSU Campus                                                                                      1992
  3         13           Correspondence - SDSU Campus                                                                                      1993
  3         14           Correspondence - SDSU Campus                                                                                      1993
  3         15           Correspondence - SDSU Campus                                                                                      1993
  3         16           Correspondence - SDSU Campus                                                                                      1993
  4           1           Correspondence - T                                                                                                            1974-1986
  4           2           Correspondence - Vice President Bailey, Harold                                                                1975-1985
  4           3           Correspondence - Vice President Fries, James                                                                 1985-1986
  4           4           Faculty Computer Center Questionnaire                                                                            1990
  4           5           Network Infrastructure Re-Build Study - Elert and Associates                                           2000
  4           6           Network Rebuild Project Discussions Document - MSI Systems Integrators                    2000
  4           7           Network Rebuild RFP - IBM Bid Response                                                                        2000
  4           8           Network Rebuild RFP Vendor Questions                                                                           2000
  4           9           Proposal to Provide Technology Consulting Services - Elert and Associates                    2000
  4         10           Research Committee                                                                                                         1979
  4         11           SDSU Infrastructure Discussion with Computing Services and Elert and Associates      2000
  4         12           Tactical Planning Committee                                                                                             1990
  4         13           Terminal Plans and Proposal                                                                                             1982-1983
  4         14           University IT Policies                                                                                                          2002-2003

LibGuides Footer