Chat now!

Skip to main content

MA 73 Clark S. Thomas student expense notebook: Home

Notebook of Clark S. Thomas documenting all his personal expenses while attending South Dakota State College from 1937-1945.

Summary Information

Repository                  South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections

Creator                       Clark S. Thomas

Title                             Clark S. Thomas student expense notebook

Date [bulk]                 1937-1945

Extent                         0.21 linear feet – 1 small Hollinger box

Language                    English

Abstract                      Notebook of Clark S. Thomas documenting all his personal expenses while attending South Dakota State College from 1937-1945.

Preferred Citation      Clark S. Thomas student expense notebook. MA 73. South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections

Biographical Note

Clark S. Thomas was born in rural Springfield, South Dakota on December 8, 1917. He attended South Dakota State College from 1937 t0 1941 graduating with a degree in agriculture. He served in the U.S.  Army Air Corps from 1941 to 1945. He spent the years of World War II at military posts in Texas and California, and overseas in Guatemala and India. He was a farmed in rural Springfield, South Dakota retiring in 1980.

Contents Note

This collection consists of a notebook of Clark S. Thomas, a student at South Dakota State College from 1937 to 1941.  The notebook records all of his personal expenses while attending college, as well as expenses while serving in the U.S. Army Air Corps from 1941 to 1945. Entries in the notebook include meals, entertainment, income, and other expenses for clothes, school supplies, etc. Also included are receipts for tuition and fees for Thomas for 1937-1941.

Administrative Information

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open to research. Items in the Archives do not circulate and may be used in-house only. Researchers are asked to make an advance appointment to access archival material. Due to limited staffing, we are unable to identify, locate, and retrieve requested materials on a walk-in basis. Please call or e-mail prior to visiting the collection and indicate as much detail as possible about a particular topic and intended use.

South Dakota State University supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted as a result of their fragile condition or by contractual agreements with donors.

Copyright note

Copyright restrictions apply in different ways to different materials. Many of the documents and other historical materials in the Archives are in the public domain and may be reproduced and used in any way. There are other materials in the Archive carrying a copyright interest and must be used according to the provisions of Title 17 of the U.S. Code. The Archive issues a warning concerning copyright restrictions to every researcher who requests copies of documents. Although the copyright law is under constant redefinition in the courts, it is ultimately the responsibility of the researcher to properly use copyrighted material.

Source of Acquisition

This collection was transferred from the South Dakota Agricultural Heritage Museum in 2016.  The Agricultural Heritage Museum received it from Clark S. Thomas' daughter, Marilyn J. Thomas Stone.

Arranged and Described by

Crystal J. Gamradt, Archivist, 2016 March 21

Key Words

Personal names

  • Thomas, Clark S.

Subjects

  • Students—Expenses—South Dakota State College

Inventory

Box Folder Description Date(s)
1 1 Notebook 1937-1945
1 2 Tuition and fees receipts 1937-1941

 

LibGuides Footer